ما هي أشهر المشروبات في تركيا؟

ما الذي يعرف الدولة على أنها فريدة من نوعها؟ ربما تكون معالمها و مواقعها التاريخية، بالاضافة الى ذلك، فإن من الحقائق التي لا يمكن إنكارها أن ثقافتها، قبل كل شيء، هي التي تجعلها مختلفة تمامًا عن بقية البلدان. والمطبخ، في هذا الصدد، هو عامل غير متحيز لثقافة الدولة المعنية. تركيا، مقارنة بمعظم البلدان في جميع أنحاء العالم، لديها واحد من أغنى، إن لم يكن أغنى مطبخ في العالم.

علاوة على ذلك، ليس فقط الطعام اللذيذ والفريد هو ما يُبرز أو يميز مطبخ البلد. بعد كل شيء، تعد المشروبات جزءًا مهمًا من المطبخ أيضًا. وبالتالي، فإن موضوع هذا المقال اليوم سيكون أفضل المشروبات في تركيا.

بادئ ذي بدء، يجب الإشارة إلى أن المشروبات هي جزء أساسي من المطبخ التركي، لذلك من المهم معرفة أنه حتى في الوجبات اليومية الثلاث، دائمًا ما يكون للمشروبات دور خاص. من الإفطار إلى الغداء وحتى العشاء.

وبناءاً على ذلك، دعونا نمضي قدمًا بالحديث، ونتعرف بشكل أفضل على المشروبات الشهيرة في تركيا.

1. الشاي التركي

بالنسبة للشعب التركي، الشاي هو ما يجمع  بينهم، فهو يلعب دورًا مهمًا في الحلقات الاجتماعية، زيارات الجيران، والعديد من الأنشطة الاجتماعية الأخرى. أصبح الشاي جزءًا مهمًا جدًا من الثقافة التركية، لدرجة أن عدم تقديم الشاي للضيوفن أصبح يعتبر نوعا من التقصير في الضيافة. قد يبدو في الأمر شيء من المبالغة، ولكن الشاي يُقدم تقريبًا على مدار اليوم لأفراد الشعب التركي. خلال الإفطار والغداء والعشاء، وفي كافة الأنشطة الاجتماعية تقريبا. وبعد هذا، يمكن القول بأن الشاي جزء لا يتجزأ من حياة الشعب التركي.

حتى أن هناك نقاشات حول ما إذا كان الشعب البريطاني أو الأتراك هم اكثر من يشرب الشاي خلال اليوم الواحد، ويدعي الشعب التركي دائمًا بأنهم يأتون في المرتبة الاولى كأثر شعب يشرب الشاي حول أنحاء العالم.

أما بالنسبة لأصول الشاي التركي، فيتم حصاده غالبا في منطقة البحر الأسود بتركيا، إلى درجة ان مدينة “ريزة” تشتهر كثيرا بشرب الشاي ، وينصح به لأي سائح يسعى لزيارة تلك المنطقة من اجل تجربة شاي ريزة، حيث ان طعمه اللذيذ لا مثيل له.

2. القهوة التركية

عند الحديث عن الشاي التركي الذي يلعب دورًا مهمًا جدًا في الأنشطة الاجتماعية التركية، فإن القهوة التركية من الامور التي يتفق عليها الجميع مثل الشاي التركي، وعلى الرغم من أن أهميتها التقليدية تختلف إلى حد ما عن الشاي، إلا أن القهوة التركية تشتهر باستخدامها في قراءة الطالع. يستخدم العديد من العرافين في تركيا القهوة التركية في ذلك، عن طريق قلب الفنجان على الصحن وتركه ليبرد، ثم يتم تفسير الأنماط التي تظهر على الكوب والتأمل فيها.

اذافة الى ذلك، فإن القهوة التركية ليست مهمة فقط لأغراض قراءة الطالع، ولكن عادةً ما يتم تقديم القهوة التركية أيضًا في زيارات الجيران أو الضيوف، لإضافة نكهة خاصة إلى الدردشة الودودة، التي يجب أن يتمتع بها الأشخاص.

شيء آخر يجب ذكره، هو أن القهوة التركية تعتبر جزء من عادات الزفاف التركية التقليدية أيضًا. كمقدمة لعرض الزواج، يجب على والدي العريس زيارة عائلة الفتاة لطلب يدها ومباركة والديها على الزواج. خلال هذا الاجتماع ، يجب على العروس تحضير القهوة التركية وتقديمها للضيوف. بالنسبة لقهوة العريس، تستخدم العروس أحيانًا الملح بدلاً من السكر لتحديد شخصية العريس. إذا شرب العريس قهوته دون أي علامة استياء، ستفترض العروس بأن عريسها شخص صبور ويتمتع بمزاج جيد.

كما ان هناك قول مأثور في تركيا ينص على ان “فنجان واحد من القهوة يلزم الانسان بصداقة تستمر حتى أربعين عامًا”. وهذا له معنى عميق مؤثر للغاية، وهو أن فعل صغير مثل إعداد شخص ما، لفنجان من القهوة التركية، قد يؤدي إلى صداقة طويلة الأمد، مثل ما جاء في الامثال التقليدية.

3. البوزا

تعتبر البوزا من أقدم المشروبات في الثقافة التركية، و تشتهر بكونها من المشروبات المفضلة لدى الشعب التركي في المواسم الباردة، خاصة في فصل الشتاء. إنه مشروب مخمر، يُصنع من الدخن المقشر الذي يغلى في الماء، ثم يُسكب في اوعية خاصة ليبرد. أحد أشهر منتجي البوزا، إن لم يكن الأكثر شهرة هو “بوزاجي الوفاء”، إذا رغب المرء في تجربة متعة مشروب البوزا، فمن الأفضل تجربته هناك، حيث ان لديهم تاريخ في صناعة البوزا يعود إلى قرون، وهم الأفضل حقا في هذا العمل.

4. الراكي التركي

قبل أن ننتقل إلى المشروبات الكحولية الأكثر شيوعًا في تركيا، يجب الإشارة إلى السن القانوني لشرب الكحول في تركيا هو 18 عامًا، حيث يعتبر سن الرشد، فالأشخاص الذين تقل أعمارهم عن هذا السن، ممنوعون من شرب الكحول في تركيا.

علاوة على ذلك، إذا كان عمر الشخص يفوق سن 18 عاما، فمن الآمن والقانوني تمامًا شرب الكحول، حيث ان هناك مطاعم خاصة في جميع أنحاء تركيا تسمى “الماي خانه التركية “، و التي تظهر في بادئ الامر شبيه بالحانات الفاخرة، الا انها ليس كذلك تماما، لأن هذه المطاعم لها مكانة خاصة جدًا في الثقافة التركية. وهنا يأتي دور الراكي التركي.

الراكي هو المشروب الوطني لتركيا، يُصنع من العنب المقطر مرتين مع اليانسون. في هذه المطاعم، يتم تقديم الراكي مع العديد من المقبلات، لمرافقة نكهة الراكي، وإضفاء البهجة على الدردشات الطويلة التي يمكن أن يقوم بها المرء مع أصدقائه، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الموسيقى التركية الجميلة التي تبعث على الحنين إلى الماضي، والمتوفرة في كل كافة هذه المطاعم المذكورة. تؤدي إضافة الماء إلى الراكي إلى الحصول على لون أبيض حليبي، ومن هنا جاء مصطلح “حليب الأسد” الشائع استعماله للمشروب نفسه. نظرًا لأن الأسد هو استعارة تركية لشخص قوي وشجاع، فالمصطلح سيعبر عن ان هذا “المشروب هو للاقوياء”.

نظرًا لأن الراكي له مكانة فريدة في الثقافة التركية، فإن الشعب التركي حريص جدًا ودقيق بشأن كيفية شربه. في حين أن بعض الناس نادرًا ما يشربون الراكي بعدم إضافة الماء على الإطلاق، وإضافة القليل من الثلج، فإن هذا غير شائع جداً. عادةً ما يُشرب الراكي بإضافة الماء و الثلج فوقه.

ليس الهدف ان تشرب الراكي بسرعة مثل الفودكا أو التيكيلا، بل من المفترض أن تأني حالة سكر بوتيرة بطيئة وهادئة. وبعد ذكر ذلك، فالهدف هو إضفاء البهجة على المائدة، حيث ان الراكي هو رفيق للحديث الطويل والرائع، الذي يمكن للمرء أن يخوضه مع أصدقائه الموجودين على الطاولة أيضًا.

هذه “القواعد” ليست إلزامية تمامًا بالتأكيد، على الرغم من أنه على سبيل المثال، إذا كان المرء يشرب الراكي ببطء، أو على دفعة واحدة، فيجب عليه الحذر بكل الاحوال، لأن الراكي شراب قوي مع نسبة كحول عالية، لذلك فإن أخذ بضع رشفاتت منه قد يؤدي الى حالة سريعة من السكر.

5. السحلب

يشبه السحلب إلى حد ما البوزا، على الرغم من أن الاختلاف الرئيسي هو وجوب تناوله ساخناً، مثل الشاي أو القهوة، في حين أن طعمه يشبه إلى حد كبير طعم البوزا، إلا أن السحلب مصنوع أساسًا من الحليب الساخن والقرفة مع زهرة الأوركيد. من النادر أن يتم تقديم السحلب للضيوف أثناء الزيارات في تركيا، إلا أنه مشروب شائع في المواسم الشتوية أو الباردة، حيث يُعتقد أنه صحي ضد الأمراض التي تكثر في الطقس البارد.

كما قيل من قبل، فإن أفضل وقت لشرب السحلب هو عندما يزور المرء تركيا في المواسم الباردة ، ويمكن لمذاقه الدافئ ان ينافس بالفعل، طعم الشوكولاتة الساخنة في يوم شتوي، إن لم يتفوق عليه. و يعتمد ذلك على ذوق من يشربه طبعا.

6. جعة افيس بلسن

هناك أنواع مختلفة من البيرة التركية. ومع ذلك، غالبا ما يُنظر إلى افيس بلسن على أنها الأفضل بينهم، وهي البيرة التركية الأكثر شيوعًا. فهي لا تعتبر شاربًا ثقيلًا، على عكس الراكي التركي،وتشبه البيرة العادية تقريبًا، ولكنها تأتي مع مجموعة غنية من الخيارات المتنوعة. قد تكون المفضلة هي افيس الكلاسيكية ذات الزجاجة الشهيرة، او افيس دارك براون التي تحتوي على نكهة القهوة والشوكولاتة، افيس درافت بنكهتها الطازجة، و افيس دارك مع نكهة الكراميل.

يمكن العثور على افيس بلسن في أي حانة تركية، أو حتى في بعض المطاعم التركية التي تقدم الراكي، نسبةً لشعبيتها، لذلك من السهل العثور عليها وشربها. وعلى الرغم من أنها قد لا تبدو مختلفةً عن الجعة الشائعة، إلا أن مذاقها الخاص وزجاجتها الفريدة والمميزة، تعتبر عناصر لا مثيل لها.

7. عصير اللفت (عصير الشلغم)

عصير اللفت، و اسمه بالتركي شراب الشلغم، هو مشروب مخمر شائع و تقليدي للغاية، يأتي من المناطق الجنوبية من تركيا، ويُشرب بشكل عام عند تناول الكباب أو بعض المأكولات التركية التي يمكن العثور عليها في جنوب تركيا.

يعتبر الشلغم مشروبًا صحيًا إلى حد ما، ويتم تقديمه كعلاج لمن يعانون من صداع الكحول، ويساعد على الهضم. بصرف النظر عن ذلك، وبسبب إحتواءه على الأنثوسيانين، فهو يقلل من مخاطر الأمراض الصحية واحتمال حدوث الامراض السرطانية.

غالبًا ما يتم تقديم شلغم جنبًا إلى جنب مع المشروب الكحولي الراكي في كوب منفصل، حيث يُعتقد أن أذواقهم تكمل بعضها البعض، ومع ذلك، فإن هذا يرجع تمامًا إلى ما يفضله الشخص، ومع ذلك، فهما يشربان معا عادةً.

يتم الاحتفال بشراب الشلغم عن طريق مهرجان يقام في أضنة منذ عام 2010. انبثق مهرجان الراكي العالمي و المعروف بأسم الاخر، مهرجان شلغم اضنة، من تقليد دام مائة عام، يتضمن الاستمتاع بالكباب مع الشلغم والراكي، وتحول الحدث إلى مهرجان شعبي يقام في الشوارع؛ موسيقيو الشوارع يعزفون على الطبول وعازفي الزورنة يمتعون  بالزوار طوال الليل، في ثاني ليلة سبت من شهر ديسمبر.

8. لبن العيران

إذا أردنا التحدث عن أكثر المشروبات شهرة في تركيا، فيجب ذكر لبن العيران ايضا. حتى أن الاسم بحد ذات اصبح ظاهرة في العالم بأسره، وهو أحد أكثر الأشياء التي لا يمكن تجاهلها في الثقافة التركية. يعتبر العيران مشروب صيفي مصنوع من اللبن والماء والملح. على الرغم من هذه الوصفة تبدو بسيطة، الا ان الشعب التركي يعشق العيران حقاً، وله مكانة خاصة في قلوبهم. فهو يتلائم تمامًا مع كافة الأطعمة التركية تقريبًا، وخاصة الكباب التركي، وكجزء لا يتجزأ عن سندويشات الدونر ايضا. بالإضافة الى كونه شراب صحي للغاية.

لا يحتوي هذا المشروب على السكر. بل يعد شرب العيران المالح أحد الطرق السريعة القليلة لتناول الصوديوم (الملح) خلال أشهر الصيف، حيث يمكن للمرء أن يتعرق بشده ويفقد الكثير من الملح، مما قد يشكل خطورة على صحة المرء. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن للمرء أن يستغل الفوائد الصحية التي لا يمكن إنكارها للبن، فهو غني بالبروتين والكالسيوم.

يقال أن تاريخ العيران قديم بقدر قِدم الأتراك أنفسهم، نظراً لأن الأتراك القدامى في خانات جوكتورك كانوا يشربون العيران خلال تلك القرون، واليوم يوجد شراب العيران في كل ركن من أركان تركيا، ويتم تقديمه في كل مكان يخدم المشروبات تقريبًا، بما في ذلك سلاسل مطاعم الوجبات السريعة الأجنبية مثل ماكدونالدز وبرغر كينج.

9. عصير المخلل

يعد عصير المخلل أو المعروف أيضًا باسم شراب الطرشي او الطرشو، من أشهر المشروبات التقليدية التركية. في حين أنه لا يشرب عادة بجانب الأطعمة أو المأكولات، إلا أنه لا يزال مشروبًا محبوبًا في الثقافة التركية.

إنه مشروب منعش تقليدي في تركيا، يُصنع من الخضروات المخللة مثل البنجر والجزر والملفوف والخيار والبصل والفلفل والثوم مع الملح. إنه مالح من ناحية النكهة، مع لسعة قوية في نهاية المذاق، وهو سائل ذو لون وردي فاتح.

يباع عصير المخلل من قبل بائعي (ساندويتش السمك) ويتم تقيمه أحيانًا مع سندويشات السمك أو غيره من أطعمة الشوارع، و كما ذكرنا سابقًا، من الأفضل أن يتم تجربته بمفرده، في حين أنه يكمل طعم شطائر السمك، يوصى بتذوق طعم الطرشي الفريد والنكهات الاخرى بمفردها.

10. شراب الشيرا

الشيرا، مشروب مخمر يشبه شراب الشلغم إلى حد ما ، حيث ان لونهما و طريقه عملهما شبه متطابقة. ومع ذلك، فإن الاختلاف الوحيد هو ان الشلغم  مشروب ذو نكهة مالحة، اما الشيرا فطعمه حلو إلى حد ما، بسبب احتوائه على نسبة عالية من الفركتوز. الشيرا يُشرب غالباً بجانب وجبة إسكندر كباب.

ومع ذلك، يتم تقديم نسخة من الشيرا ذات نكهة خاصة في منطقة مرمرة باسم مختلف هو الخردليه. الخردلية هو شراب الشيرا المنكه مع بذور الخردل وأوراق الكرز الذي تُنقع فيه لمدة 15 يومًا. عادة ما يتم تقديم الخردلية في المناسبات الخاصة كصنف من المقبلات.

11.  الشربات

الشربات أو الشربت التركية المعروفة أيضًا باسم الشربات العثمانية، هي مشروب حلو مخمر ذو قوام يماثل القطر، و يشبه شراب الشيرا إلى حد ما أيضًا، ومع ذلك، فإن مذاقه و طريقة صنعه مختلفتان أيضًا. هناك العشرات من الأصناف عندما يتعلق الأمر بالشربات، حيث يمكن صنعها من كل فاكهة تقريبًا. يمكن تحضير الشربات الشعبية من واحد أو أكثر مما يلي: بذور الريحان، ماء الورد، بتلات الورد الطازج، خشب الصندل، البايل، الكركديه، الليمون، البرتقال والمانجو والأناناس والفلسا (غريويا اسياتيكا) وبذور الشيا.

تحظى الشربات بشعبية كبيرة في جميع دول الشرق الأوسط تقريبًا، بل إن العديد من المسلمين يشربون الشربات عند الإفطار يوميًا خلال شهر رمضان.

12. عصير الليمون ( الليموناضة)

عصير الليمون هو شراب شائع جدًا في جميع أنحاء العالم، ولكن هل سمعت يومًا عن عصير الليمون الغير حامض؟ هذا هو الامر الذي يتفرد فيه عصير الليمون التركي.

يُفرك قشر الليمون والسكر معًا، أو يُطهى قبل خلطهما مع عصير الليمون.

تمامًا مثل لبن العيران، يعد عصير الليمون أيضًا مشروبًا محبوبًا جدًا في الصيف بالنسبة للشعب التركي، عندما يُضاف اليه النعناع، يصبح مذاقه أفضل.

بصرف النظر عن كون تركيا واحده من أفضل الأماكن المفضلة للاسترخاء في الصيف، فإن عصير الليمون التركي هو أيضًا يعتبر متعة مفضلة مع وجبات الإفطار التركية، حيث أن طعم النعناع المنعش والحلاوة هما حقًا فعلا الحل مثالي ليوم جميل.

ما هي افضل الاطباق التركية؟

تركيا بلد يقدم أفضل المأكولات في العالم مع مجموعة متنوعة من أنواع الطعام. يمكن سرد أفضل الأطباق التركية المشهورة عالميًا أدناه:

  • ورق العنب المحشو
  • الكباب
  • الكفتة
  • البقلاوة
  • لحم الدونر واسكندر كباب
  • اللقم التركي (الحلويات التركية)
  • بيتا
  • فطائر لحم بعجين
  • كرات لحم النيء
  • كرات اللحم المحشية
  • كوكاريك
  • (ميديه) بلح البحر
  • كومبير
  • مانتي

ما هي شركات المشروبات في تركيا؟

شركات المشروبات في تركيا مدرجة أدناه:

  • بينار
  • ريد بول
  • ليبتون
  • نيسله
  • جاكوبس
  • كابي
  • جوس
  • تروبيكانا
  • كوكا كولا
  • فانتا
  • سبرايت
  • شويبس
  • أولوداغ
  • سيرما
  • كيزيلاي
  • بيبازاري
  • الدايمات
  • دوغادان
  • دوغوش جاي
  • إيكر
  • فروكو
  • وفا بوزاجيسي
  • سوتاش

هل شرب الكحول قانوني في تركيا؟

كما ذكرنا بإيجاز سابقًا، فإن شرب الكحول في تركيا امر طبيعي جدا، طالما أن الشخص يبلغ من العمر 18 عامًا أو أكثر. ومع ذلك، هناك بعض القيود من أجل الحفاظ على سلامة الناس بشكل عام.

على سبيل المثال، يُمنع القيادة في حالة سكر، ويقوم رجال الشرطة بوضع دوريات على الطرق في ساعات الليل المتأخرة للتحقق مما إذا كان بعض السائقين على الطريق وهم في حالة سكر بالفعل.

في حين أنه لا توجد عقوبة شديدة أو عقوبة السجن إذا تم القبض على أحد، على سبيل المثال، هناك عقوبة مالية إذا تم القبض على الشخص وهو يقود سيارته في حالة سكر.

ومع ذلك، تصبح العقوبات اكثر شدة إذا ارتكب الشخص جريمة وهو في حالة سكر، اوربما اذا تسبب في حادث مروري، وما إلى ذلك.

وبغض النظر عن كل هذا ، فإن شرب الكحول في تركيا أمر قانوني تماما، طالما تم ذلك دون مضايقة الآخرين.

أضف تعليق

What Are the Best Drinks in Turkey?

What does define a country as unique? Perhaps it is its landmarks, its historical places, yet it is an undeniable fact that its culture, above all, makes it so different than the rest of the countries. And cuisine, for that matter, is an impartial factor of the said country’s culture, and Turkey, compared to most of the countries across the world, has one of the richest, if not the richest cuisine in the world.

Yet it is not only the unique and delightful food that stands up or the uniqueness of the cuisine of the country. After all, drinks too, are an important part of the cuisine. Thus, the topic of this article today will be the best drinks in Turkey.

First of all, it should be stated that beverages and drinks are a paramount part of Turkish cuisine, so paramount that even in the three meals of the day, drinks always have a special role within those meals. From breakfast to lunch to dinner.

With that being said, let us proceed forth, and get to know the famous drinks and beverages of Turkey all the better.

1. Turkish Tea

For Turkish people, tea is what brings them all together, as it has a crucial role in social gatherings, neighbor visitations, and many other social activities. Tea has become a very important part of the Turkish culture to the extent it is considered rude if the guest is not served tea. It may sound an exaggeration yet tea is served in almost every part of the regular day of a Turkish person. The breakfast, the lunch, the dinner, and almost every part of the social activities. After all, it can be said that tea is an inseparable part of the lives of the Turkish people.

There are even debates regarding that whether British people or Turkish people drink tea within a day, and the Turkish people always claim that they are the number one tea drinkers all across the world.

As for the origins of the Turkish Tea, however, it is majorly harvested in the Black Sea region of Turkey to an extent where a city in Turkey called ‘Rize’ is famous for its tea, and it is advised to any tourist who would seek to visit there to drink the Rize Tea, as its beautiful taste in unlike any other.

2. Turkish Coffee

Speaking of Turkish Tea having a very important role in Turkish social activities, Turkish Coffee also is as impartial as Turkish Tea, although traditionally speaking its importance is somewhat more different than tea, Turkish Coffee is most commonly known for its usage in fortune-telling. Many fortune tellers in Turkey use Turkish Coffee for their fortune-telling, by turning the cup over into the saucer to let it cool, and then to interpret and contemplate the patterns that appear on the cup.

Yet it is not only for fortune-telling purposes that Turkish Coffee is important but commonly Turkish Coffee is also served in neighbor or guest visitations, to add a flavor to the lovely, friendly chat people are to have.

One another thing that must be mentioned is that Turkish coffee is also a part of the traditional Turkish wedding custom. As a prologue to marriage, the bridegroom’s parents must visit the girl’s family to ask for the hand of the bride-to-be and the blessings of her parents upon the upcoming marriage. During this meeting, the bride-to-be must prepare and serve Turkish coffee to the guests. For the groom’s coffee, the bride-to-be sometimes uses salt instead of sugar to determine the groom’s personality. If the bridegroom drinks his coffee without any sign of displeasure, the bride-to-be assumes that the groom is good-tempered and patient.

There is even a saying in Turkey that “A cup of coffee commits one to forty years of friendship.” Which has a very deep and considerate meaning, that even a small deed such as preparing someone a Turkish Coffee may lead to a longlived friendship, such as the belief and the saying goes.

3. Boza

Boza is one among the oldest drinks in the Turkish Culture, it is known for being one of the favorite drinks of the Turkish people in colder seasons, especially in winter. It is a fermented beverage that is made from hulled millet that is boiled in water and then poured into pans to be cooled. One of the most commonly known producers of Boza, if not the most iconic and famous one, is the “Vefa Bozacisi”, should one desire to try the delight that is Boza, it is best to try it from there, as they have a centuries-old history of making Boza, and truly the best at what they are doing.

4. Turkish Raki

Now, before we proceed onto the moreso alcoholic drinks of Turkey, it must be stated that the drinking age in Turkey is 18, as it is considered to be the age of maturity, people under this age are prohibited from drinking alcohol in Turkey.

If one is, however, above the age of 18, it is entirely safe and legal to drink alcohol, there are special restaurants all over Turkey that is called “Turkish Meyhane”s, while initially, they are like luxury pubs, but not quite the same, as these restaurants have a very special place in Turkish Culture. – And that is where the Turkish Raki comes in.

Raki is the national drink of Turkey, made of twice-distilled grapes and anise. In these restaurants, Raki is served with various appetizers, to accompany the flavor of Raki, to add to the delight of the long chats that one would have with their friends, along with the beautiful nostalgic live Turkish music that is available in almost all those mentioned restaurants. Adding water to the Raki causes it to have a milky-white color, hence the term “lion’s milk” has become a popular reference to the drink itself. Since lion is a Turkish metaphor for a strong, courageous person, the term would go as in “A drink that is for the strong”.

As Raki has a unique place in Turkish Culture, the Turkish people are also very careful and strict about how to drink it. While some people rarely drink Raki by adding no water at all and just adding a couple of ice, that is very uncommon and generally, Raki is drank by adding water on top of the drink and adding ice on top of it.

Raki is not meant to be drunk quickly like Vodka or Tequila, it is meant to be drunk at a slow, calm pace. It is, after all, meant to add a delight to the table, a companion for the long, lovely talk that one would have with their friends who are also at the table.

These “rules” are not entirely mandatory of course, although for example if one would drink Raki, or even drink it as a shot, they should beware after all Raki is a heavy drinker with a considerably high alcohol rate, so taking a few shots of it might get one drunken rather quickly.

5. Salep

Salep, or sahlep or sahlab, is somewhat similar to Boza, although the major difference is that Salep is consumed hot, like tea or coffee for that matter, while its taste is reminiscently similar to Boza’s, Salep is essentially made from hot milk, cinnamon, and orchid flower. It is rare for Salep to be served to a guest during Turkish visitations, however, it is a common drink in the wintery or cold seasons, as it is believed to be healthy against sicknesses that come in cold weather.
As said before, the best time to drink Salep is when one would visit Turkey in colder seasons, truly the taste and the warmth of Salep could rival the taste of a Hot Chocolate on a wintery day, if not it may even be better. – That is up to the taste of the one who drinks of course.

6. Efes Pilsen

There are various Turkish-brand beers. Yet Efes Pilsen is widely considered to be the best among them and is the most commonly preferred Turkish beer. It is not a heavy drinker, unlike Turkish Raki it is nearly the same as a regular beer, however it comes with a rich choice of variety. Favorites may be the classic Efes Pilsen with its iconic bottle, Efes Dark Brown, which has a coffee and chocolate aroma, Efes Draft with its fresh flavor, and Efes Dark with caramel aromas.

Efes Pilsen can be found in any Turkish pub, or even in some of the Turkish restaurants that provide Raki, as with its popularity, so comes how easy to find and drink Efes Pilsen. And while it may seem no different than the common beer, its special taste, and its iconic, unique bottle are no match.

7. Turnip Juice (Salgam Suyu)

Turnip Juice, or with its Turkish name Şalgam (pronounced shal-gam), is a very popular and traditional fermented drink from the southern regions of Turkey, it is generally drunk when eating Turkish Kebap or some of the Turkish cuisine that can be found in Southern Turkey.

Shalgam is considered to be a rather healthy drink, it is served as a cure for those with hangovers, and helps with digestion. Aside from that, because of its anthocyanin content reduce health disease risks and the probability of carcinogenic occurrences.
Shalgam is also often served alongside the alcoholic drink rakı in a separate glass as their tastes are believed to complement one another, that is however completely up to the person’s preference, however, commonly they drink together.

Shalgam has been celebrated as a festival in Adana since 2010. The World Raki or with its other name, Adana Shalgam Festivalemerged from a hundred-year tradition of enjoying kebabs with shalgam and raki, The event turned into a nationwide popular street festival; street musicians playing drums and zurna entertain visitors all night long on the second Saturday night of December.

8. Ayran

If we are to speak of the most commonly known and famous drinks of Turkey, Ayran must be spoken of as well. As even its name itself is a phenomenon in the entirety of the world, one of the most memorable things about Turkish Culture. Ayran is considered to be a summer drink, made from yogurt, water, and salt. As basic as its recipe sounds, Turkish people truly adore Ayran in a special place in their hearts. It goes perfectly with almost every Turkish Food, especially Turkish Kebab, and Doner is almost considered inseparable from them. In addition it is also very healthy.

It does not contain sugar. Drinking salty ayran is one of the few rapid ways to intake sodium (salt) during the summer months when one can dehydrate and lose salt, which can prove dangerous to one’s health. In addition, one can benefit from the undeniable health benefits of yogurt, which is high in protein and calcium.

And it is said that the Ayran’s history is as old as the Turks themselves, given even the ancient Turks of the Gokturk Khanate had been drinking Ayran all those centuries ago, and today ayran is present at every corner across Turkey, offered almost everywhere that serves drinks, including foreign fast-food chains such as McDonald’s and Burger King.

9. Pickle Juice (Tursu Suyu)

One of the most popular and famous Turkish street delights is the Pickle Juice or also known as Tursu or Torshi. while it is not commonly drunk alongside foods or cuisines, it is still a wholeheartedly loved drink in Turkish Culture.

It is a refreshing beverage native to Turkey, made from pickled vegetables such as beets, carrots, cabbage, cucumbers, onions, peppers, garlic, and brine. It is salty in flavor, with a strong tangy kick at the end, while its color is bright pink.

Pickle Juice is sold by balik ekmek (fish sandwich) vendors and is sometimes paired with fish sandwiches or other street food, yet as said before, it is best to be experienced on its own, while it does compliment the taste of fish sandwiches, the unique, flavoury taste of the Torshi is recommended to be tasted on its own.

10. Sira

Sira is a fermented drink that is rather similar to Shalgam, their colors and their productions are almost identical. The only difference, however, is that while Shalgam is a salty-flavored drink, Sira tastes rather sweet, because of the high fructose it contains. Sira is drunk mostly alongside Iskender Kebap.

However, a flavored version of Sira is also served in the Marmara Region with a different name that is called Hardaliye. Hardaliye is a Sira aromatized in mustard seeds and cherry leaves for 15 days. Hardaliye is usually served on special occasions as an appetizer.

11. Sherbet

Turkish Sherbet or Sharbat also known as Ottoman Sherbet is a fermented sweet, syrup-like beverage that is also somewhat similar to Sıra, however, its taste and its production are aswell rather different. There are dozens of varieties when it comes to Sherbet as it can be made from almost every fruit Popular sherbets are made of one or more of the following: basil seeds, rose water, fresh rose petals, sandalwood, bael, hibiscus, lemon, orange, mango, pineapple, falsa (Grewia asiatica) and chia seeds.
Sherbet is rather popular in almost every Middle Eastern country, and many Muslims even drink Sherbet when breaking their daily fasting during the month of Ramadan.

12. Lemonade

Lemonade is very common and popular throughout the world, yet have you ever heard of lemonade that wasn’t sour? That is where the uniqueness of the Turkish Lemonade comes in.

The lemon rinds and sugar are either rubbed together or cooked before they are mixed with the lemon juice.

Just like Ayran, lemonade is also a very much loved beverage in summer for Turkish People, when it’s complemented with mint, its taste becomes all the better.

Aside from being one of the top-time favorites to chill down in summer, Turkish Lemonade is also a preferable delight in Turkish Breakfasts, as its refreshing taste of mint and sweetness is truly a perfect key to a beautiful day.

What Are the Best Dishes of Turkey?

Turkey is a country with the best cuisine in the world with a wide variety of food types. Turkey’s world-renowned best dishes are listed below.

  • Stuffed vine leaves
  • Kebab
  • Meatballs
  • Baklava
  • Doner and Iskender Kebab
  • Lokum (Turkish Delight)
  • Pita
  • Lahmacun
  • Cig Meatballs
  • Stuffed meatballs
  • Kokarec
  • (Midye) Mussel
  • Kumpir
  • Manti

What are Beverage Companies in Turkey?

The beverage companies are in Turkey listed below:

  • Pinar
  • Red Bull
  • Lipton
  • Nestle
  • Jacobs
  • Cappy
  • Juss
  • Tropicana
  • Coca Cola
  • Fanta
  • Sprite
  • Schweppes
  • Uludag
  • Sirma
  • Kızilay
  • Beypazari
  • Dimes
  • Dogadan
  • Dogus Cay
  • Eker
  • Fruko
  • Vefa Bozacisi
  • Sutas

Is it Legal to Drink Alcohol in Turkey?

As briefly mentioned before, drinking alcohol in Turkey is perfectly fine, so long as one is 18 years old or above. There are, however, some restrictions, for the sake of maintaining the safety of the people generally.

For example, it is prohibited to drive while drunk, and policemen are patrolling the roads at nightly hours to check if some drivers are on the road while drunk indeed.

While there is no heavy punishment or jail time if one is caught, for example, there is a money punishment if one is caught driving while they are drunk. The heavy punishments however, may be prominent if one commits a crime in a drunken state, mayhaps causing a traffic accident, and so on forth.
All these aside, however, drinking alcohol in Turkey is legal indeed, so long as it’s done without harassing others.

Leave a Comment