كيف هو الحمام التركي؟

كلمة “حمام” ، وهي ذات أصل عربي، منطقة للاستحمام بماء ساخن وبارد. في حياة الأتراك، لم تكن الحمامات مكانًا للاستحمام فحسب، بل كانت مراكز للأنشطة الصحية والاجتماعية والثقافية أيضًا. الحمامات، التي تكون ساخنة باستمرار وذات رطوبة عالية جدًا، توفر الراحة من خلال السماح للعضلات بالاسترخاء. أهم سبب لذلك هو أنها تسهم في تنعيم البشرة، وتسمح بتقشير الطبقات العليا بسهولة و تسهيل عملية الغسل. أدى استخدام المياه، وهو أحد الاحتياجات الحيوية للبشر، للأغراض الصحية، إلى إنشاء مساحات مائية مثل الحمامات والمنتجعات الصحية. الحمامات، وهي من أنواع المباني هذه، تلبي بشكل خاص احتياجات الغسيل والتنظيف للناس. من الماضي إلى الحاضر، بالإضافة إلى الغرض من المحافظة على الصحة العامة عن طريق الاستحمام والتطهير والتجميل ضمان بنية جسدية قوية، تستخدم بعض طقوس الاستحمام للتخلص من بعض الأمراض أيضًا. باختصار، الحمامات هي مراكز صحية واجتماعية وثقافية تتجاوز مجرد التنظيف والاستحمام، وتقدم علاجات للجسم من أجل تنقيته جسديا و روحانيا، والعلاج من خلال التدليك، وابراز الجمال الجسدي.

تاريخ الحمام التركي

يعود تاريخ الحمام التركي، الذي يرتبط بالثقافة التركية، إلى الإمبراطورية الرومانية. الحمام، الذي انتشر بشكل متزايد بعد اعتناق القبائل التركية للإسلام، له تاريخ يعود إلى العصور القديمة. نتيجة للدراسات الأثرية، تم العثور على الأمثلة الأولى للحمامات الحالية في أثينا ويعتقد أنها بنيت في القرن الخامس قبل الميلاد. الاستخدام الواسع للحمامات الحديثة، على الرغم من أنها تعود إلى اليونان القديمة في القرن الخامس، إلا أنها لا تقتصر على هذه المنطقة. كشفت الحفريات أن هناك هياكل مماثلة في الهند ومصر وبحر إيجه. في الحمامات، التي يُعتقد أنها تعطي الطراز الحديث للحضارة الرومانية، يُعتقد أنه كان يتم تسخين الماء بنيران مركزية في القرن الأول قبل الميلاد. تشير التقديرات إلى وجود حوالي 170 حمامًا في روما عام 33 قبل الميلاد. في العصر الروماني، كانت تسمى هذه الهياكل بـ “ثيرما : الحرارة” ، ويشكل هذا المصطلح اليوم أصل كلمة “ثيرمال : الحرارية”. يعود تاريخ تعرف الأتراك على الحمام إلى عام 1584. قامت والدة مراد الثالث، نوربانو سلطان، ببناء حمام جيمبيرلي تاش، الذي تم تسجيله كأول حمام عام، من قبل المهندس المعماري الشهير معمار سنان. لا يزال حمام جيمبيرلي تاش مستمر في الخدمة حتى اليوم. أصبحت الحمامات، التي تم تبنيها من قبل الجمهور في وقت قصير، منتشرة بشكل متزايد وفي نهاية القرن السادس عشر، ثم ظهر ما يقرب من 5000 حمام في اسطنبول وحدها. تم إنشاء معظم هذه الحمامات كمرافق خاصة.

ما هي مميزات الحمام التركي؟

تختلف الحمامات التركية عن الحمامات في المناطق الأخرى في عدة نواحي. تلعب الأقسام الداخلية الدور الأكبر في هذا السياق. تتكون الحمامات التركية بشكل عام من ثلاثة أجزاء مذكورة أدناه:

  • قسم ارتداء الملابس: مناطق ارتداء الملابس هي الأماكن التي يستعد فيها الأشخاص الذين يزورون الحمام لخلع ملابسهم. اليوم يتم تحضيره على شكل كبائن أو غرف.
  • قسم الغسيل: يشكل قسم الغسيل مركز الحمام. في هذا القسم، يتم استخدام مكونات مختلفة مثل الحوض، الجزء السمى “Halvet” وحجر السرة. كورما، هو اسم القسم الذي تتجمع فيه المياه المتدفقة من صنابير المياه الساخنة والباردة حيث يغتسل الجميع واحدًا تلو الآخر. أما الغرفة الخاصة، من ناحية أخرى، فهي الجزء الذي يتخذ شكل غرفة مغلقة في الحمام ويسمح للزوار بالاستحمام بمفردهم. حجر السرة هو البناء الرخامي في وسط الحمام وعادة ما يتم تقديم خدمة التنظيف على هذا الحجر.
  • قسم التسخين: يسمى قسم التسخين في الحمامات بالفرن. يقع تحت الحمام، حيث تشتعل فيه النار باستمرار. تستخدم هذه النار لتسخين كل من الحمام والماء.

ما هي فوائد الحمام التركي؟

الحمام التركي يوفر علاج مائي بالبخار الساخن، و له تأثير خارق على الحالة العقلية والجسدية للجميع. فوائد الحمام التي تحظى باهتمام خاص ومتطورة في بلادنا كما في العديد من الحضارات هي كالتالي:

  • تأثيرات الاسترخاء: الفائدة الأكثر عمومية وشعبية للحمام هي آثار الاسترخاء التي يوفرها للعقل والجسم. يريح الحمام من التوتر والألم بفضل التأثير المنعش للبخار الساخن على كل من الجسم والعقل. في الوقت نفسه، وبفضل خصائصه المنعشة والمريحة، يعد الحمام أحد أفضل العلاجات لمكافحة التوتر الذي نمر به كل يوم.
  • فوائد للبشرة: بما أن فوائد الحمام يمكن تقسيمها إلى عقلية وجسدية، فلنستمر بمثال عن الجسم. بفضل البخار والحرارة، ستتفتح مسام جلدك وسيكون من السهل على البخار النظيف اختراق بشرتك. هذا هو المفتاح الرئيسي للحصول على بشرة نضرة ورائعة. الحمام له تأثير مهدئ على هذا النوع من تجديد الخلايا، بالإضافة إلى مشاكل الجلد الأخرى. يمكن أن تصبح جميع أنواع السموم محاصرة تحت جلدك بسبب الميكروبات التي نتعرض لها في البيئة. تساعد الحمامات في حل هذه المشكلة باستخدام الحرارة لفتح المسام. بيئة دافئة يتم ضبطها بحيث لا تحرق بشرتك، تمنع التلوث وتسمح لك بإزالة الجلد الميت.
  • فوائد للدورة الدموية: كما أنه مفيد للدورة الدموية، حيث يتم ينتقل المزيد من الأكسجين إلى المناطق التي تعاني من ضعف أو تلف الدورة الدموية بفضل الحمام.
  • التأثيرات الإيجابية على ضغط الدم: أظهرت الأبحاث أن أجسام بعض الناس تفرز هرمونات تغير معدل نبضات قلبهم أثناء الاستحمام. أحد هذه الهرمونات، ويسمى الألدوستيرون، ينظم ضغط الدم. عندما يتم إطلاق الألدوستيرون أثناء الجلوس في الحمام، يمكن أن يساعد في خفض ضغط الدم المرتفع.
  • فوائد لتقليل الإجهاد: من بين فوائد الحمام، ربما يكون الشيء الأكثر جاذبية بالنسبة لنا هو أنه يخفف التوتر. إنه علاج رائع باستخدام المقشر وتنقية الجسم من الأوساخ والترسبات، وعقلنا الذي يرتاح عندما نغادر الحمام يجعلنا نشعر بسعادة كبيرة. لهذا السبب غالبًا ما يقول الأشخاص الذين يخرجون من الحمام إنهم “يضيئون مثل الطائر”. فكيف تفعل هذا؟ يمكن أن يقلل التواجد في الحمام من إنتاج الجسم للكورتيزول بشكل كبير. الكورتيزول هو هرمون ينظم مستوى التوتر الذي تشعر به. عندما ينخفض ​​مستوى الكورتيزول لديك، تشعر براحة أكبر. إن قضاء بضع دقائق في حالة استرخاء لا يحسن صحتك فحسب، بل يساعد أيضًا في شفاء عقلك.
  • فوائد التنفس و تقليل الاحتقان: فائدة ذلك تكمن في البخار. ضع في اعتبارك، أنه إذا كان البخار الذي تقف فيه أثناء الاستحمام في المنزل يحسن حالتك بشكل كبير، فكم سيكون الحمام التركي مفيدًا. من بين فوائد الحمامات، اقليل احتقان الأنف ونزلات البرد هي أسرع الحلول التي يمكن أن نجدها. تخلق الحمامات بيئة تشجع التنفس العميق والصحي. دراسة قديمة على مجموعة من الأطفال. وجدت أن الذين يعانون من التهابات في الجهاز التنفسي يتعافون بشكل أسرع بعد دخول كزلجا حمام والعلاج بالبخار من الأطفال الذين لم يتلقوا هذا العلاج.
  • فوائد الاسترخاء للمفاصل المتيبسة: من أبرز مزايا الحمام أنه يوفر فائدة هائلة لمفاصلنا. يمكن إعطاء المثال الأكثر وضوحًا على ذلك من خلال حركات الإحماء التي يطبقها الرياضيون قبل التدريب أو المنافسة. يعد الإحماء قبل التدريب أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لمنع الإصابات. ابتداء من هنا يمكننا القول أنه طالما لم يتم تسخين المفاصل والعضلات بدرجة كافية، فإنها ستؤذينا. أحيانًا نشعر بألم في الظهر والرقبة والساق لا يزول لأيام. أحيانًا لا يكفي الحمام الذي نقوم به لمنع ذلك، لكن الحمام التركي دائمًا جاهز لهذه المهمة.
  • التأثيرات على جهاز المناعة: يمكننا الحصول على جهاز مناعة قوي يساهم في منع الإصابة بالأنفلونزا والمرض من خلال الحمامات التركية. كتطبيق للعلاج المائي، من المعروف أن الحمامات التركية تزيد من المناعة. إن إبقاء جسمك تحت الماء الدافئ والبخار الساخن يحفز الخلايا المقاومة للعدوى.
  • فوائد فقدان الوزن: من ضمن ممارسات أولئك الذين يريدون إنقاص الوزن الإكثار شيوعا الرياضة والتمارين الرياضية. وبهذه الطريقة يسمح لنا الجسم الذي يتعرق بفقدان الوزن عن طريق حرق السعرات الحرارية. إذا كانت إحدى حيل هذه العملية هي التعرق ، فإن الحمامات التركية التي يتشابك فيها البخار والحرارة، يمكن أن تساعدك على إنقاص الوزن أيضًا. على الرغم من أن المدة التي تقضيها في الحمام تختلف من شخص لآخر بسبب عوامل مثل خصائص جسمك، إلا أن هناك حقيقة تبين امكانية حرق السعرات الحرارية من بين فوائد الحمام التركي ايضا.

كيف يعمل الحمام التركي؟

وفقًا للمياه المستخدمة ، يمكن تقسيم الحمامات التركية في الأناضول إلى نظامين للمياه الساخنة الطبيعية وأنظمة التسخين الاصطناعية. تسمى المباني المبنية على مصدر طبيعي للمياه الساخنة والمستخدمة بشكل عام للأغراض الصحية بالينابيع الساخنة. تحتل الحمامات التركية الأناضولية مكانة مهمة للغاية في الحياة الاجتماعية التركية، لأنها مسرح للعديد من الأحداث الاجتماعية المتعلقة بالترفيه والولادة والزواج وكذلك الاغتسال. اليوم، من الممكن رؤية حمامات المياه الساخنة والباردة والرغوة العطرية والطين والأعشاب البحرية والطين والعسل وتدليك الزيوت النباتية وعلاجات الجسم في الحمامات، والتي تستخدم في الغالب لأغراض التنظيف والصحة والجمال. يمكن تقييم الممارسات التقليدية لثقافة الحمام التركي في ثلاث فئات من حيث الصحة وكفاءة التطبيق. يوصى بالقيام بهذه المراحل الثلاث من حيث العناية بالجسم وصحة الجسم وجماليته.

مبادئ عمل الحمامات التركية مذكورة أدناه:

  1. التطهير والتنقية
  2. مساج الحمام
  3. علاجات الجسم بالحمام التركي

يجب إزالة جميع المجوهرات (الذهب و امثاله) والنظارات قبل دخول الحمام. يسخن المعدن في الحمام ويؤثر المعدن الساخن على الشعيرات الدموية ويمكن أن يسبب احمرارًا وتهيجًا في الجلد أيضًا.

يجب إزالة العدسات اللاصقة قبل دخول الحمام لأنها قد تسبب تهيج العين.

بما أنه من غير الملائم للصحة دخول الحمام بمعدة ممتلئة، فمن الضروري التوقف عن الأكل والشرب قبل الاستحمام. يتسبب الطعام الذي يتم تناوله قبل الاستحمام في حدوث توتر في الدورة الدموية. إذا تم تناول وجبة جيدة، كما هو الحال قبل التمرين، انتظر ساعة أو ساعتين قبل الاستحمام. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ليس من الصواب الاستحمام على معدة فارغة. يستهلك الاستحمام طاقتك كالتمرين الرياضي ، فهو يتسبب في فقدان السوائل والمعادن، وقد يعاني بعض الأشخاص من الغثيان أو الإغماء عند الإرهاق. لذلك، مع مراعاة أعراض جسمك، احرص على عمل حمام منخفض الحرارة وقصير الأمد. أيضًا، تجنب الذهاب إلى الحمام إذا كنت تشعر بالإرهاق الجسدي.

قد يكون من الخطر الدخول في حال وجود ضغط دم منخفض أو مرتفع.

يوصى بعدم الدخول في حالة وجود أمراض قلبية خطيرة وصعوبات في التنفس.

ماذا يجب أن ترتدي في الحمام التركي؟

يفضل ارتداء الملابس غير الرسمية أثناء الذهاب إلى الحمام، ومن الضروري ارتداء ملابس مريحة ورياضية قدر الامكان. في مناطق الملابس في الحمام، يتم نزع الملابس والملابس الداخلية ووضعها في حقيبتك. إذا كنت ترغب في ذلك، فمن الممكن دخول الحمام بالسراويل الداخلية، ولكن يوصى باستخدام لباس داخلي قديم لأنه سيتعرض بإستمرار الى الماء و الصابون. قبل مغادرة غرفة الملابس، يُغطى الجسم بقطعة قماش. اليوم، تقدم العديد من الحمامات التركية للزوار منتجات مثل المئزر والمناشف. ومع ذلك، إذا كنت ترغب في ذلك، يمكنك اصطحاب مئزرك معك أيضًا. يتم أيضًا نزع الأحذية والجوارب في غرفة الملابس، ويتم ارتداء القباقب التي لن تنزلق على الأرضية الرخامية المبللة. يتم تقديم القباقب للزوار من قبل الحمام، ولكن إذا كنت ترغب، يمكنك أن تأخذ نعالك معك. من المهم جدًا الانتباه الى أن الأرضيات المبللة يمكن أن تكون زلقة، فعليك ان تمشي عليها بحذر.

ما هو الفرق بين الحمام والحمام التركي؟

الحمامات التركية هي مرافق شائعة جدًا، تجذب عددًا كبيرًا من المستخدمين. ومع ذلك، كما ذكرنا سابقًا، هناك العديد من أنواع الحمامات المختلفة التي تنتمي إلى ثقافات أخرى. توجد ثقافة الاستحمام في كل من الحضارات القديمة، والمجتمعات المختلفة اليوم. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك أماكن مثل المنتجعات الصحية والساونا، فضلاً عن الهياكل مثل “أونسن” و “بانيا” و “جيمجيلبانغ”. على الرغم من أن هذه الهياكل تظهر أوجه تشابه مع الحمامات التركية في جوانب مختلفة، إلا أن الحمامات التركية تختلف عن الأنواع الأخرى من الحمامات. تؤدي الاختلافات بين الحمامات التركية عن الأنواع الأخرى من الحمامات إلى قيام المستخدمين باختيارهم وفقًا لتفضيلاتهم. إذا احتجنا إلى التحدث عن بعض هذه الاختلافات، فيمكننا سردها على النحو التالي:

  • من أولى السمات اللافتة للنظر بالنسبة للحمامات التركية، هي أن الحمامات المستخدمة من قبل النساء والرجال منفصلة. لأسباب ثقافية، يتم استخدام حمامات معزولة حسب الجنس في الحمامات التركية. لا يوجد مثل هذا التمييز بين المرافق “الحرارية” المستخدمة في روما، والتي هي مصدر حمامات أونسن والساونا والحمامات التركية.
  • الحمام التركي والتدليك موضوعان لا ينفصلان. توفر نسب الرطوبة ودرجة الحرارة المرتفعة في الحمامات التركية تنعيمًا للبشرة وإزالة سهلة للأوساخ والجلد الميت. بعد البقاء في الحمام التركي لفترة معينة، يتم توفير التنظيف الإضافي والاسترخاء مع تطبيقات التقشير والتدليك. تقليديا، لا تتم هذه الممارسة في بعض أنواع الحمامات الأخرى.
  • المرافق الأكثر مقارنة بالحمامات التركية هي المنتجعات الصحية والساونا. الفرق الرئيسي بين المنتجعات الصحية (السبا) والحمامات التركية هو أن هذه المرافق عبارة عن مناطق حرارية مدمجة. لا يوجد مثل هذا الشرط لبناء الحمامات التركية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن التطبيقات التي يتم إجراؤها في المنتجعات الصحية لها نطاق أوسع مقارنة بالحمامات التركية. الساونا، من ناحية أخر، تلفت الانتباه باعتبارها بنية أبسط. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن مستوى درجة الحرارة في الساونا أعلى بكثير منه في الحمام التركي، و الرطوبة أقل. اليوم ، تحتوي العديد من الحمامات التركية الحديثة على مناطق ساونا.
  • من السمات المهمة للحمامات التركية هي هياكلها وهندستها المعمارية الفريدة. بدأت هذه الرافق، التي لها تاريخ قديم جدًا، تنتشر في ثقافتنا، خاصة في العصر العثماني. بناءً على هذا الوضع، تأثرت الهندسة المعمارية في الحمامات التركية بشكل كبير بالعمارة العثمانية. يشمل الحمام التركي العديد من العناصر الأخرى بالإضافة إلى الوظائف. هناك أقسام منفصلة مثل الغرفة الباردة، والغرفة الساخنة، وغرف تغيير الملابس في الحمامات. يعد شكل القبة المستخدم على نطاق واسع من أولى السمات اللافتة للنظر في الجزء الخارجي من الحمامات التركية. بصرف النظر عن ذلك، و بشكل عام، فإن الهندسة الخارجية للحمامات التركية لها مظهر عادي إلى حد ما.

ما هي أشهر الحمامات التركية؟

كان للحمامات التركية أهمية حيوية للاغتسال والنظافة عبر التاريخ. ومع ذلك، وبعد انتشار الحمامات المناسبة للاستخدام الخاص بمرور الوقت، انخفضت اولوية الحمامات التركية في هذه المهمة. لذلك، فإن استخدام الحمام التركي، الذي كان شائعًا، قد انخفض بمرور الوقت. تم هدم بعض الحمامات التركية القديمة الأقل شهرة أو تحويلها إلى هياكل تشبه المتاحف. ومع ذلك، فقد نجت العديد من الحمامات التركية التاريخية حتى يومنا هذا. تمت ترميم بعض هذه الحمامات وجعلها جاهزة للاستخدام مرة أخرى. إذا احتجنا إلى التحدث بإيجاز عن الحمامات التركية التاريخية المهمة، فيمكننا سرد بعضها على النحو التالي:

1. حمام جيمبيرلي تاش

جيمبيرلي تاش هو أحد الحمامات التاريخية التي لا تزال تعمل كحمام. تم تصميم هذا الحمام من قبل معمار سنان و بناؤه في عام 1584. يعد جيمبيرلي تاش أحد الحمامات الشهيرة في البلاد، ويقع بجوار جيمبيرلي تاش، بالقرب من البازار الكبير. الحمام، الذي بنته نور بنو سلطان زوجة سليم، يتكون من قسمين منفصلين للرجال والنساء. كان ديمبيرلي تاش معروفًا أيضًا باسم السلطانة الوالدة و حمام روز لفترة من الوقت. ايليا الجلبي، الذي سافر إلى الأراضي العثمانية وجمع ما رآه في عمله المسمى سياحة نامه، يشير أيضًا إلى المبنى باسم حمام مراد الثالث. يمكن مشاهدة نقوش عثمانية على بعض أحجار السرة في الحمام. على الرغم من تضرر حمام جيمبيرلي تاش بمرور الوقت، الا انه قد أعيد استخدامه بعد أعمال الترميم.

2. حمام آيا صوفيا (السلطانه حريم)

تم الانتهاء من بناء هذا الحمام، الذي شيدته السلطانة حريم، زوجة سليمان القانوني ، في عام 1557. قام معمار سنان، رئيس المهندسين المعماريين في تلك الفترة، بخرق كافة القواعد عند بناء هذا الحمام التركي، حيث صمم الاقسام الرجالية و النسائية على المحور نفسة لأول مرة.  الحمام ، الذي بنته السلطانة حريم كمؤسسة خيرية، استخدم كمستودع لسنوات عديدة. تمت إعادة افتتاح الحمام، الذي تم ترميمه بين عامي 1957 و 1958 ، في عام 2011 بنفس وظائفه التي تعود إلى خمسة قرون ، أي كحمام تركي تقليدي.

3. حمام غلطة سراي التاريخي

يقع الحمام داخل مجمع غلطة سراي وقد بناه السلطان الثاني. تم بناؤه من قبل بيازيد في عام 1481 مع المجمع. حمام غلطة سراي، أحد أروع الحمامات وأشهرها في اسطنبول، بناه السلطان الثاني. تم انشاءه بواسطة بايزيد بناءً على طلب جول بابا، أحد الشخصيات المهمة في تلك الأوقات. خدم حمام غلطة سراي، الذي يؤجع تاريخه لعدة قرون، العديد من الباشوات والقضاة والوزراء والسلاطين. لا يزال هذا الحمام التركي أحد أكثر الحمامات التاريخية تفضيلاً حتى يومنا هذا.

4. حمام السليمانية

يشكل جزء من المسجد. الحمام، الذي أقيم في بيازيد منذ عام 1557 ، يتكون من قباب ومداخن تصطف الواحدة تلو الأخرى. في ذلك الوقت، تم بناء مسجد السليمانية ومجمعه الاجتماعي جنبًا إلى جنب مع الحمام. بالإضافة إلى الأقسام التي يمكن للنساء والرجال استخدامها كل يوم، فهناك قسم الصندوق الخاص حيث استحم سليمان القانوني في احدى المرات. اليوم، لا يزال الحمام يؤدي وظائفه بشكل طبيعي. يوجد قسم واحد فقط للرجال والنساء ويجب عليك الحجز قبل الذهاب.

5. حمام فيزنيجيلار التاريخي

تم بناء هذا الحمام من قبل الوزير الأعظم سيافوس باشا عام 1582 لتوليد الدخل لمدرسة السليمانية. وفقًا لمعلومات أخرى، تم إرفاقه كحمام قصر ثم فتح لاحقًا للجمهور. في عام 1965 تم ترميم أماكن التجهيز كخرسانة مسلحة. يأخذ حمام فيزنيجيلار التاريخي اسمه من المنطقة التي يقع فيها. اضافة الى انه يسهل الوصول إليه، حيث أنه قريب من البازار الكبير، ومسجد بايزيد ومسجد شهزاديباسي وجامع السليمانية.

هل يجب زيارة الحمام التركي خلال الرحلات في تركيا؟

اليوم ، بالإضافة إلى المنافسة الشديدة والبحث عن الابتكار في قطاع السياحة ، فإن التغيير في سلوك المستهلك، والنهج الواعي والانتقائي يزيد الاهتمام بالمنتجات والخدمات المختلفة. لذلك، تعد الحمامات التركية منتجًا سياحيًا جذابًاً، من الناحية الثقافية و المعمارية. لا يمكن للسياح الذين يجربون الحمام التركي، الذي يحتل مكانة مهمة في الثقافة التركية ، التخلي عن هذه التجربة. تنتهي تجربة الحمام، التي تبدأ بالساونا وتستمر بعلاجات التقشير والرغوة، بالتدليك. يأتي السياح من العديد من الدول، وخاصة السياح البريطانيين، إلى الحمام التركي لأول مرة ويعودون بعد ذلك ايضا. يجب أن تأتي إلى تركيا لتجربة كرم الضيافة التركية، ومتعة الحمام التركي، والأماكن التي يجب رؤيتها في تركيا.

أضف تعليق

How is Turkish Hammam?

The word hammam, which is of Arabic origin, means a bathing area with hot and cold water. In the life of the Turks, hammams were not only a place for bathing but also centers for health, and social and cultural activities. The hammams, which are constantly hot and have very high humidity, provide relief and relaxation by allowing the muscles to relax. The most important reason for this is that it softens the skin and allows the upper layers to be easily peeled off and facilitates cleaning. The use of water, which is one of the vital needs of human beings, for health purposes, has led to the construction of water spaces such as baths and spas. Baths, which are one of these building types, especially meet the washing and cleaning needs of people. From the past to the present, in addition to the purpose of protecting general health such as bathing, purification, beauty, and staying vigorous, bath applications are also used to get rid of some ailments. In short, hammams are health, social and cultural centers that go beyond just scrubbing and bathing, and provide body treatments for bodily and spiritual purification, holistic therapy, treatment through massage, and bodily beauty.

Turkish Hammam History

Hammam, which is identified with Turkish culture, historically dates back to the Roman Empire. The hammam, which became increasingly widespread after the Turkish tribes accepted Islam, has a history dating back to ancient times. As a result of archaeological studies, the first examples of today’s baths were found in Athens and are thought to have been built in the 5th century BC. The widespread use of modern baths although it dates back to Ancient Greece in the 5th century, it is not limited to this region. It has been revealed by the excavations that there are similar structures in India, Egypt, and the Aegean. In the baths, which are believed to give the modern state of Roman civilization, it is thought that water was started to be heated by a central fire in the 1st century BC. It is estimated that there were around 170 baths in Rome in 33 BC. In Roman times, these structures were called therma, and today this term forms the origin of the word “thermal”. The meeting of the Turks with the hamam dates back to 1584. The mother of Murat III, Nurbanu Sultan, had our world-famous architect Mimar Sinan build the Cemberlitas Bath, which is recorded as the first public bath. Cemberlitas Hamam is still in service today. The baths, which were adopted by the public in a short time, became increasingly widespread and at the end of the 16th century, approximately 5,000 baths began to serve in Istanbul alone. Most of these baths are established as private enterprises.

What are the Features of the Turkish Hammam?

Turkish baths differ from baths in other regions in several ways. Internal partitions play the biggest role in this separation. Turkish baths generally consist of three parts are listed below:

  • Dressing: Dressing areas are the places where people who visit the bath prepare to take off their clothes. Today it is prepared in the form of cabins or rooms.
  • Washing: The washing section forms the center of the bath. In this section, different components such as basin, halvet, and navel stone are used. Kurna is the name of the section where the water flowing from the hot and cold water taps accumulates and everyone is washed one by one. The private room, on the other hand, is the part that is in the form of a closed room in the bath and allows the visitors to bathe alone. The navel stone is the marble structure in the center of the bath and the scrubbing service is usually given on this stone.
  • Warming: The heating section in the baths is called the furnace. It is located under the bath and the fire is constantly burning. This fire is used to heat both the bath and the water.

What are the Benefits of Turkish Hammam?

Hammam is a hydro-therapy treatment with hot steam, which has a miraculous effect on everyone’s mental and physical condition. The benefits of the bath, which is of special interest and developed in our country, as in many civilizations, are as follows:

  • Relaxing effects: The most general and popular benefit of the bath is the relaxing effects it provides to the mind and body. A hammam provides relief from stress and pain, thanks to the refreshing effect of hot steam on both the body and the mind. At the same time, thanks to its refreshing and relaxing properties, the hammam is one of the best therapies to combat the stress and tension we experience every day.
  • Benefits to the skin: Since the benefits of the bath can be divided into mental and physical, let’s continue with an example from the body. Thanks to steam and heat, your pores will open and it will be easier for clean steam to penetrate your skin. This is the key to having wonderfully clear and youthful skin. The bath has a soothing effect on this type of cell renewal as well as other skin problems. All kinds of toxins can become trapped under your skin due to the microbes we are exposed to in the environment. Bathhouses help solve this problem by using heat to open your pores. A warm environment, which is set so that it does not scald your skin, prevents contamination, and allows you to remove dead skin.
  • Benefits to blood circulation: It is also beneficial for your circulation, as more oxygen is carried to areas with damaged or weakened blood circulation thanks to the bath.
  • Positive effects on blood pressure: Research shows that in a bath, some people’s bodies release hormones that change their heartbeat. One of these hormones, called aldosterone, regulates your blood pressure. When aldosterone is released while sitting in a bathhouse, it can help lower high blood pressure.
  • Benefits to stress: Among the benefits of the bath, perhaps the most appealing thing to us is that it relieves stress. It is a wonderful therapy to throw a scrub and purify the body from dirt and rust, and our mind, which relaxes when we leave the bath, makes us feel very good. That’s why people who come out of the bath often say that they “light like a bird”. So how does it do this? Being in the hammam can significantly reduce your body’s production of cortisol. Cortisol is a hormone that regulates the level of stress you feel. When your cortisol level drops, you feel more relaxed. Spending a few minutes in a relaxed state not only improves your health but also helps heal your mind.
  • Benefits for breathing and congestion: The benefit of this is hidden in steam. Consider that if the steam you stand in while taking a bath at home improves you significantly, how much would a hammam be beneficial. Among the benefits of baths, nasal congestion and colds are the fastest solutions we can find. Baths create an environment that encourages deep and sound breathing. An old study on a group of children; found that children with respiratory tract infections recovered faster after Kizilcahamam Hamam and steam therapy than children who did not receive this therapy.
  • Relaxing benefits for stiff joints: One of the notable points among the benefits of a bath is that it provides a tremendous benefit to our joints. The most obvious example of this can be given by the warm-up movements that the athletes apply before training or competition. Warming up before training is critical to preventing injuries. Starting from here; we can say that as long as the joints and muscles are not warmed up enough, they will hurt us. Sometimes we experience back, neck, and leg pain that does not go away for days. Sometimes a bath we do to prevent this is not enough, but the hamam is always ready for this task.
  • Effects on the immune system: We can get a strong immune system that we need to prevent getting the flu and getting sick through the baths. As a hydrotherapy application, baths are known to increase immunity. Keeping your body under warm water and hot steam stimulates infection-fighting cells.
  • Benefits for losing weight: One of the practices of those who want to lose weight is plenty of sports and exercise. In this way, the body that sweats allows us to lose weight by burning calories. If one of the tricks of the job is to sweat, then the baths where steam and heat are intertwined can also help you lose weight. Although how long you stay in the bath differs from person to person due to factors such as your body characteristics, there is also the fact that you burn calories among the benefits of the bath.

How does a Turkish Hammam Work?

According to the water used, Anatolian Turkish baths can be divided into two natural hot water and artificial heating systems. Buildings built on a natural hot water source and generally used for health purposes are called hot springs. Anatolian Turkish baths have a very important place in Turkish social life as they are the scene of many social events related to entertainment, birth, and marriage as well as cleaning. Today, it is possible to see hot and cold water pools, aromatic foam, mud, seaweed, clay, honey, and vegetable oil massages and body treatments in the baths, which are mostly used for cleaning, health, and beauty purposes. Traditional practices of Turkish Bath Culture can be evaluated in three classes in terms of health and application efficiency. It is recommended to do these three stages in terms of body care, body health, and beauty.

The working principles of Turkish baths are listed below:

  1. Cleansing and Purification
  2. Hammam Massages
  3. Turkish bath Body Treatments

All jewellery (gold, jewellery) and glasses must be removed before entering the bath. The metal heats up in the hammam and the heated metal affects the capillaries and can also cause redness and irritation of the skin.

Contact lenses should be removed before entering the bath, as they may cause eye irritation.

Since it is inconvenient for health to enter the bath with a full stomach, it is necessary to stop eating and drinking before the bath. The food eaten before the bath creates tension in the circulatory system. If a good meal has been eaten, as before exercise, wait an hour or two before taking a bath. In addition, it is not right to take a bath or a bath on an empty stomach. Bathing uses your energy like an exercise, it causes loss of fluids and minerals, and some people may experience nausea or fainting when they are exhausted. Therefore, taking into account the symptoms of your body, take care to make a low-temperature and short-term bath. Also, avoid going to the hammam if you feel physically exhausted.

It can be dangerous to enter in the presence of low or high blood pressure.

It is recommended not to enter in the presence of serious heart diseases and breathing difficulties.

What Should You Wear in Turkish Hammam?

While going to the hammam, casual clothes are preferred, and it is necessary to wear comfortable and sporty clothes whenever possible. In the dressing areas in the bath, clothes and underwear are removed and placed in your bag. If you wish, it is possible to enter the bath with panties, but it is recommended to use an old panty because they will constantly come into contact with water and use soap. Before leaving the dressing room, the body is covered with a loincloth. Today, many Turkish baths offer products such as loincloths and towels to their visitors. However, if you wish, you can also take your loincloth with you. Shoes and socks are also removed in the dressing room, and clogs that will not slip on the wet marble floor are worn. The clogs are offered to the visitors by the hamam, but if you wish, you can take your slippers with you. It is very important to remember that wet floors can be slippery and to walk carefully.

What is the Difference Between Hammam and Turkish Bath?

Turkish baths are very popular structures that appeal to a large number of users. However, as we mentioned before, there are many different types of baths belonging to other cultures. There is a bath culture both in many ancient civilizations and in different societies today. Examples of these are places such as spas and saunas, as well as structures such as “onsen”, “banya” and “jimjilbang”. Although these structures show similarities to Turkish baths in various aspects, Turkish baths have differences from other types of baths. The differences between Turkish baths from other types of baths cause users to make their choices according to their preferences. If we need to talk about some of these differences, we can list them as follows:

  • One of the first striking features of Turkish baths is that the baths used by women and men are kept separate. Due to cultural reasons, different baths are used according to gender in Turkish baths. There is no such distinction between the “thermae” structures used in Rome, which are the source of onsen, sauna, and Turkish baths.
  • Turkish bath and massage are two inseparable subjects. The high humidity and temperature ratios in Turkish baths provide softening of the skin and easy removal of dirt and dead skin. After staying in the Turkish bath for a certain period, extra cleaning and relaxation are provided with scrub and massage applications. Traditionally, such a practice is not done in some other types of baths.
  • The structures most compared to Turkish baths are spas and saunas. The main difference between spa centers from Turkish baths is that these structures are built-in thermal areas. There is no such requirement for the construction of Turkish baths. In addition, the applications made in spas have a wider scope compared to Turkish baths. Sauna, on the other hand, draws attention as a simpler structure. In addition, the temperature level in a sauna is much higher than in a Turkish bath, and the humidity is lower. Today, many modern Turkish baths have sauna areas.
  • An important feature of Turkish baths is their unique structures and architecture. These structures, which have a very old history, started to become widespread in our culture, especially in the Ottoman period. Depending on this situation, the architecture in Turkish baths was greatly influenced by Ottoman architecture. The Turkish bath includes many other elements as well as functionality. There are separate sections such as cold room, hot room, and changing rooms in the baths. One of the first striking features of the exterior of Turkish baths is the widely used dome shape. Apart from that, the external architecture of Turkish baths generally has a rather plain appearance.

What are the Famous Turkish Hammams?

Turkish baths have had a vital importance for cleaning and hygiene throughout history. However, with the spread of bathrooms suitable for private use over time, this priority task of Turkish baths fell into the background. Therefore, the use of the Turkish bath, which was once more common, has decreased over time. Some of the less popular old Turkish baths have been demolished or converted into museum-like structures. However, many historical Turkish baths have survived to the present day. Some of these baths have been restored and made ready for use again. If we need to talk briefly about important historical Turkish baths, we can list some of them as follows:

1. Cemberlitas Bath

Cemberlitas is one of the historical baths that still functions as a bath. This bath was designed by Mimar Sinan and was built in 1584. Cemberlitas Hamam is one of our famous hammams, located next to Cemberlitas, very close to the Grand Bazaar. The bath, which was built by Selim’s wife Nur Banu Sultan, consists of two separate sections for men and women. Cemberlitas was also known as Valide Sultan and Rose Bath for a while. Evliya Celebi, who traveled the Ottoman lands and collected what he saw in his work called Seyahatnâme, also refers to the building as Murat III’s Bath. It is possible to come across Ottoman inscriptions on some navel stones in the bath. Although the Cemberlitas Bath was damaged over time, it was reused as a result of restoration work.

2. Hagia Sophia Hurrem Sultan Hammam

The construction this bath, which was built by Hurrem Sultan, the wife of Suleiman the Magnificent, was completed in 1557. Mimar Sinan, the chief architect of the period, broke new ground in Turkish bath architecture by constructing the men’s and women’s sections on the same axis for the first time. The bath, which was built by Hurrem Sultan as a charity, was used as a warehouse for many years. The bath, which was repaired between 1957 and 1958, was reopened in 2011 with its 5 centuries-old functions, that is, as a bath.

3. Historical Galatasaray Hamam

The hammam is located within the Galatasaray Complex and was built by Sultan II. It was built by Beyazıt in 1481 together with the complex. Galatasaray Hammam, one of the most magnificent and famous baths in Istanbul, was built by Sultan II. It was made by Bayezid at the request of Gul Baba, one of the important figures of those times. Galatasaray Hamam, which appeals to centuries, has served many pashas, judges, grand viziers, and sultans. The Turkish bath is still one of the most preferred historical baths today.

4. The Suleymaniye Hamam

Forms part of the mosque. The bath, which has been standing in Beyazit since 1557, consists of domes and chimneys lined up one after the other. At that time, the Suleymaniye Mosque and its social complex were built together with the bath. In addition to the sections that women and men can use every day, the special box section where Suleiman the Magnificent once bathed is the part of the bath that is used. Today, the bath still performs its functions. There is only one section for men and women and you must make a reservation before you go.

5. The Historical Vezneciler

Bath was built by the grand vizier Siyavus Pasha in 1582 to generate income for the Suleymaniye madrasah. According to other information, it was attached as a mansion bath and later opened to the public. In 1965, the dressing places were renovated as reinforced concrete. The historical Vezneciler Bath takes its name from the district where it is located. It is easy to reach as it is close to the Grand Bazaar, Beyazit Mosque, Sehzadebasi Mosque, and Suleymaniye Mosque.

Should You Go to The Turkish Hammam in Turkey Trips?

Today, in addition to the intense competition and search for innovation in the tourism sector, the change in consumer behavior, and conscious and selective approach increases the interest in different products and services. Therefore, Turkish Baths are an attractive touristic product both culturally and architecturally. Tourists, who meet the Turkish Bath, which has an important place in Turkish culture, cannot give up on the Turkish Bath. The hammam experience, which starts with a sauna and continues with scrub and foam treatments, ends with a massage. Tourists coming from many countries, especially British tourists, come to the Turkish bath for the first time and come once again. You should come to Turkey to experience Turkish hospitality and the pleasure of the Turkish bath and the spots in Turkey that should be seen.

Leave a Comment