ما الذي يجب أن تعرفه عن التلال السبعة في اسطنبول؟

بنى الإمبراطور الروماني قسطنطين المدينة على سبع تلال، بناءً على حقيقة وجود الشمس والقمر و خمس كواكب في السماء خلال حياته. كما هو الحال في روما، قامت الإمبراطورية البيزنطية و العثمانية بحماية حدود المدينة بسبعة تلال وشيدت عليها هياكلها الرائعة. تقع التلال السبعة التي يُزعم أنها بُنيت في إسطنبول في المنطقة التي نسميها سور المدينة أو شبه الجزيرة التاريخية، أي في جزء اسطنبول المحتلة، والذي يقع في قلب المدينة. حيث تغطي المثلث الممتد من اديرنه كابي إلى سرايبورنو.

أين تقع تلال اسطنبول السبعة؟

سرايبورنو على التل الأول، مسجد نور عثمانية على التل الثاني، مسجد السليمانية على التل الثالث، مسجد الفاتح على التل الرابع، مسجد يافوز سلطان سليم على التل الخامس، مسجد مهريمة سلطان على التل السادس، وحاسكي كليّة على التل السابع. لمزيد من المعلومات، يمكنك أيضًا التحقق من مقالتنا أشياء يجب معرفتها عن اسطنبول.

التلال مذكورة أدناه:

1. تل سارايبورنو

يبدأ سرايبورنو، المعروف أيضًا باسم تل مسجد توبكابي، من سرايبورنو في شبه الجزيرة التاريخية، ويصل ارتفاعه إلى 45 مترًا عن مستوى سطح البحر. كان هذا التل قلب اسطنبول خلال الفترتين الرومانية والعثمانية.

المعالم المبنية في توبكابي، مثل قصر التل والمسجد الأزرق وآيا صوفيا، ما هي الا مجرد عدد قليل من المباني الأثرية التي تحدد منظر التل. يقع “المليون ستون”، الذي يعتبر نقطة انطلاق الطرق الممتدة الى جميع أنحاء الإمبراطورية الرومانية، على هذا التل ايضا. كانت الساحة العريضة تسمى ميدان سباق الخيل، حيث أقيمت سباقات الخيول ومعارك المصارعين واحتفالات مختلفة قبل ظهور الإمبراطورية العثمانية على هذا التل. أطلق العثمانيون على هذه الساحة اسم “اتميداني”. اليوم، تعرف باسم “ساحة السلطان أحمد”.

يمتد تل سارايبورنو من سيركجي في الشمال إلى ميناء كاديرجا في الجنوب. تم اختيار هذا التل كمنطقة قصور خلال الإمبراطوريتين البيزنطية والعثمانية. بمعنى آخر ، يمكننا القول أن تل سرايبورنو هو أهم تل بين التلال السبعة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن المكان الأول الذي أسس فيه الملك “بيزاس من ميغارا” المدينة، هو تل سرايبونور. كان أهم سبب لذلك هو أن التل كان محاطًا بالبحر من 3 جوانب، ولذلك اعتبر المكان المثالي، حيث يمكن إنشاء المدينة بشكل استراتيجي، بإعتبارأن جانب الأرض كان فوق مستوى سطح البحر.

بعد كل شيء، فضل محمد الفاتح نهاية شبه الجزيرة التاريخية من اجل القصر.

قصر توبكابي، آية إيريني، أيا صوفيا، مسجد السلطان أحمد، قصر إبراهيم باشا، ميليون تاشي، النافورة الألمانية، مسجد آيا صوفيا الصغير، متحف الآثار بإسطنبول، يرباتان سارنيسي، حمام كاغالوغلو، المسجد الجديد، محطة سيركيجي، قصر بوكوليون، وأراستا التي بها سوق وعشرات من مطاعم الحرفيين.

الأماكن التي يمكنك رؤيتها في سرايبورنو مذكورة أدناه:

  • قصر توبكابي: تعتبر مساهمة المعمار سنان كبيرة في قصر توبكابي، وهو الأقدم بين القصور التي بقيت حتى يومنا هذا بتاريخ يقارب 400 عام وأكبرها، بمساحة 700 ألف متر مربع. بالإضافة إلى المعمار سنان، فإن عاصم علي، وداود آغا، وسركيس باليان، هم من بين أصحاب اللمسات التي تزين القصر. في قصر توبكابي، الذي أدرجته اليونسكو في قائمة التراث العالمي عام 1985 ، توجد مقتنيات فضية من خزينة القصر العثماني، وأحجار كريمة، وصور السلطان وملابسه، والأسلحة التي استخدمها الجيش العثماني، يكما جب أن ترى رداء النبي محمد (ص)، غطاء اللحية، و السيف.
  • آية إيريني، أول متحف للإمبراطورية العثمانية: تم بناء آيا إيرين، أول كنيسة في بيزنطة، في ثلاثينيات القرن الماضي. ومع ذلك، فإن آيا إيرين اليوم ليست هي نفسها، لأن هيكل آيا إيرين الخشبي الاصلي، احترق في عام 532. وحتى بعد إصلاحه، اندلع حريق في الكنيسة لعدة مرات، ثم نجا من الزلزال. لذلك تم تعمير الكنيسة عدة مرات. عندما انتقلت اسطنبول إلى العثمانيين، تحول البناء إلى متحف، وأصبح أول متحف للإمبراطورية العثمانية. في الوقت الحاضر، تُقام العديد من الحفلات الموسيقية الكلاسيكية هناك أيضًا.
  • آيا صوفيا: يعد متحف آيا صوفيا من بين أهم المعالم الأثرية في تاريخ العمارة العالمية التي بقيت حتى يومنا هذا. هذه الكنسية التي تعد أكبر كنيسة بنتها الإمبراطورية الرومانية الشرقية في اسطنبول، تخطف الانظار من خلال تصاميم الفسيفساء. تم استخدام مواد من الذهب والفضة والزجاج والطين والأحجار الملونة في صناعة اشكال الفسيفساء. خلال العصر العثماني، في القرنين السادس عشر والسابع عشر، تمت إضافة مذابح ومنابر ومنصة مؤذن ومحفل إلى آيا صوفيا، التي تم تحويلها إلى مسجد. تم تحويل آيا صوفيا إلى متحف بقرار من مجلس الإدارة، ولكن اليوم أعيد افتتاحه كمسجد.
  • نقطة الصفر في روما: كان ميليون تاشي يعتبر نقطة الصفر في روما، مركز العالم، في العصور القديمة. يقع على الزاوية اليمنى للطريق من آيا صوفيا إلى بيازيت، هذا الحجر، الذي يكاد يكون غير مرئي اليوم، هو أيضًا مصدر القول “كل الطرق تؤدي إلى روما”.
  • صهريج البا.زيليك: تم بناء هذه الصهريج، الواقع جنوب غرب اية صوفيا، من قبل الإمبراطور البيزنطي جوستانتين الاول. وقد أطلق على هذا الخزان الجوفي الكبير بين الناس اسم ” الصهريج الغاطس تحت الارض”، بسبب الأعمدة الرخامية التي ترتفع من الماء، وتظهر على أنها لا تعد ولا تحصى. تم استخدام نهر الصهريج، الذي كان يلبي احتياجات المياه للسكان المحيطين خلال الفترة البيزنطية، لفترة بعد غزو العثمانيين لإسطنبول عام 1453. ومع ذلك، بعد أن أنشأ العثمانيون مرافق المياه الخاصة بهم في المدينة، لم تكن هناك حاجة للصهريج. يعتبر رأسا ميدوسا المستخدمان كركائز تحت عمودين في الزاوية الشمالية الغربية للصهريج، من روائع فن النحت في العصر الروماني.

2. تل السليمانية (بيازيد)

تل بيازيد، أحد التلال الثلاثة الأكثر بروزًا في جغرافيا اسطنبول، يقع على ارتفاع 50-60 مترًا فوق مستوى سطح البحر. يُعرف مسجد السليمانية، لؤلؤة تل بيازيت، الذي يشكل أعلى سلسلة تلال في المدينة مع التلال السادسة والسابعة، على انه اهم اعمال المعمار سنان. ويُعرف هذا التل باسم تل السليمانية.

هذا التل، حيث يمكن رؤية الصورة الظلية لإسطنبول بشكل أفضل بعد ساريبورنو، هي منطقة يمكن الوصول إليها أثناء صعودك إلى شواطئ القرن الذهبي، وعلى مسافة قريبة من كل من جيمبيرلي تاش و تل ساريبورنو .

مسجد بايزيد، ضريح المعمار سنان، جامعة اسطنبول، وبرج بيازيد، هي من بين الأماكن التي يجب مشاهدتها في تل السليمانية، وهي منطقة يرغب السياح المحليون والأجانب في زيارتها وزيارة اسطنبول. يجب عليك أيضًا التوقف عند بوزجي الوفاء التاريخي عندما تكون هنا.

الأماكن التي يمكن رؤيتها في تلال السليمانية (بيازيت) مذكورة أدناه:

  • جامع السليمانية ، العمل الماهر للمعمار سنان: حجر الزاوية في التاريخ المعماري، جامع السليمانية، العمل الماهر للمعمار سنان، يثير الإعجاب على مدى قرون بهندسته وحرفته الرائعة وعبقرته المعمارية. المسجد الذي ساهم بشكل كبير في تشكيل صورة اسطنبول الظلية، هو بناء مقبب أكبر من آيا صوفيا. ترمز المآذن الأربعة في المسجد الى السلطان القانوني، باعتباره السلطان الرابع بعد فتح اسطنبول. الشرفات العشر في المآذن، ترمز إلى أنه السلطان العاشر في التاريخ العثماني.
  • برج بيازيت: يقع برج بيازيد، الذي تم بناؤه في منطقة بيازيت في اسطنبول لرصد الحرائق والإبلاغ عنها، في الحرم الجامعي المركزي لجامعة اسطنبول. وتم الإعلان عن حرائق البرج بتعليق السلال نهارا وإضاءة الفوانيس ليلا. لفترة طويلة، كانت الفوانيس مضاءة بألوان مختلفة في الليل، واستخدمت لإعلان توقعات الطقس في اليوم التالي لسكان إسطنبول.

3. تل جيمبيرلي تاش

تعتبر ساحة جيمبيرلي تاش، التلة الثانية في اسطنبول، ويرتفع هنا عمود جيمبيرلي تاش، الذي تم إحضاره من روما. تقع المعالم الأثرية الموجودة على هذا التل، الذي يبلغ ارتفاعه حوالي 50 مترًا فوق مستوى سطح البحر، على التوالي في طريق ميسه-ديوان.

مسجد نور عثمانسة، الذي يزين التل، هو أول مسجد على الطراز الباروكي تم بناؤه في اسطنبول. جيمبيرلي تاش، التي أقيمت على هذا التل الثاني في اسطنبول تكريما للإمبراطور قسطنطين الأول عام 330 بعد الميلاد، وكذلك البازار الكبير التاريخي، أحد أكبر وأقدم البازارات المغطاة في العالم، والذي يقع على هذا التل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يوجد على هذا التل مسجد فيروز اغا و صهريج بينبير ديرك و حمام جمبيرلي تاش ومسجد جورلولو علي باشا والمدرسة وخان جنلي و بازار البهارات.

النقطة الأولى التي نوصي بإدراجها في قائمة الأماكن التي يجب زيارتها في تل جيمبيرلي تاش هي عمود جيمبيرلي تاش. يعود تاريخ العمود، الذي يكاد يكون رمزًا للمنطقة، إلى العصر الميلادي. يعود تاريخه إلى عام 330. أقيم هذا الهيكل، الذي بقي من العصر البيزنطي، على شرف قسطنطين.

بعد عمود جيمبيرلي تاش، يجب عليك أيضًا زيارة حمام جيمبيرلي تاش. تم بناء حمام جيمبيرلي تاش، الذي يعد من بين أعمال المعمار سنان، في عام 1584 بناءً على طلب نور بني سلطان، والدة مراد الثالث. الحمام مذكور أيضًا في كتاب سياحة نامه لأوليا جلبي. نوصيك بالاسترخاء في حمام جيمبيرلي تاش، قبل أنهاء جولتك في شبه الجزيرة التاريخية.

الأماكن التي يمكنك مشاهدة تلال جيمبيرلي تاش مذكورة أدناه:

  • مسجد نور عثمانية: لم يكتمل البناء الذي باشر به محمود الأول بعد وفاة السلطان محمود. عثمان الثالث، الذي خلف السلطان محمود، أكمل البناء وحدد اسمه باسم مسجد نور عثمان. تم بناء المجمع، الذي تم الانتهاء منه في عام 1755 ، بالكامل تقريبًا على الطراز الباروكي، باستثناء النقوش المكتوبة بخط حسني-جاليكرافي. يعزو البعض معنى اسم مسجد النور عثمانية إلى عثمان الثالث، وهناك من يقول إنه يعني نور الإمبراطورية العثمانية. يجادل البعض بأن المسجد حصل على اسمه بسبب انواره الداخليه.
  • صهريج سيريفيه: الإمبراطور البيزنطي الثاني. تم افتتاح خزان سيريفيه ، الذي بناه ثيودوسيوس بين عامي 428 و 443 لتوفير تخزين المياه من خلال قناة بوزدوغان اكوادكت ، للزوار بعد 8 سنوات من أعمال الترميم.

4. تل الفاتح

يقع ضمن تلة الفاتح، وشارع فوزي باشا، وشارع جادة اتاتورك، في أعلى نقطة في شبه الجزيرة التاريخية. لهذا السبب تم بناء أرقى المباني في هذه المنطقة خلال العهدين البيزنطي والعثماني. خلال الفترة البيزنطية، كانت هناك كنيسة الرسول التي بناها الإمبراطور قسطنطين الأول وخصصت لـ 12 من الرسل. عندما تم تدمير هذا الهيكل أثناء الفتح، قرر السلطان محمد الفاتح بناء مسجد، تعبيرا عن الانتصار بعد الفتح، وثم تم بناء مسجد الفاتح. يقع قبر السلطان محمد الفاتح هنا أيضًا.

الأماكن التي يمكن زيارتها في تلال الفاتح مذكورة أدناه:

  • مسجد الفاتح: بالطبع، مسجد الفاتح هو أحد الأماكن التي يجب زيارتها في تل الفاتح. هذا المسجد الذي استغرق بناؤه أربع سنوات، اكتمل بناؤه عام 1470. واسم مهندسه المعماري أتيك سنان، لكن لا تخلط بينه وبين المعمار سنان الشهير. وفقًا للشائعات، فقد تم تصميم مسجد الفاتح ليكون جميلًا بما فيه الكفاية ليطغى على آيا صوفيا.
  • مدرسة شاهين السيمان: مدرسة شاهين السيمان التي تقع في هذا المنطقة، وهي عبارة عن مبنى ضخم، كان أحد أهم المؤسسات التعليمية خلال الإمبراطورية العثمانية، ولفترة طويلة. أعد منهج هذه المدرسة، التي يعني اسمها “ثمانية أقسام”، العالم التركي الشهير علي كوشو. جزء واحد فقط هو المتبقي من المدرسة حاليا، حيث قام الزلزال بتدميرها.
  • مسجد العمارة القديم: هذا الجامع القريب جداً من مسجد زيريك، بُني عام 1087 لكي يستخدم من قبل الراهبات. بعد الفتح، تم تحويله أولاً إلى دير ثم إلى مأوى للفقراء ضمن مجمع الفاتح. كان الطعام يوزع على المحتاجين في هذا المبنى كل يوم.
  • حجر الفتاة: تم جلب حجر جرانيت كيزتاشي (حجر الفتاة)، أحد رموز الفاتح، من مصر، و بناء الجزء العلوي منه على الطراز اليوناني القديم. الاسم الأصلي للحجر المشيد هو ماركيانوس، أحد أباطرة بيزنطة الأقل شهرة ، ويمثل عمود ماركيانوس. يأتي الاسم التركي من زخارف الفتاة الخيالية عليه.
  • مسجد الملا زيرق: يقع هذا المسجد في الحي الذي يحمل نفس الاسم، وهو من المباني البيزنطية القديمة. تم بناء الكنيسة بتبرعات من الإمبراطورة إيرين كومنينا، وتم بناء الكنيسة باسم دير بانتوكراتور، الذي يضم مكتبة ومباني مستشفى. عندما تم تحويلها إلى مسجد ومدرسة بعد الفتح، أخذ المبنى اسم الملا زيرق، الذي كان يدرّس هنا. إنه أكبر وأهم مبنى ديني متبقي من بيزنطة بعد آيا صوفيا.
  • سوق النساء: يقع بين قناطر بوزدوغان ومسجد زيرق، ويشتهر سوق النساء بمتاجره التي تبيع وجبات كباب بوريان، ستائر الرز، و فستق سييرت.

5. تل يافوز سليم

يأخذ هذا التل اسمه من مسجد السلطان سليم والمجمع الموجود عليه. عدد الأعمال المعمارية التي تستضيفها هذه المنطقة المحصورة بين المنطقة الخلفية من الفاتح وشواطئ القرن الذهبي، مرتفع للغاية. يقع مسجد فتحية وبطريركية فنر اليونانية، على هذا التل الذي يبلغ ارتفاعه حوالي 50-60 مترًا عن القرن الذهبي. تم بناء العديد من الأديرة والكنائس هنا خلال الفترة البيزنطية، وكان اسمها ديوتيرون. خلال الإمبراطورية العثمانية، تم بناء العديد من المساجد والمدارس الدينية والمقابر في المنطقة، حيث يعيش المعلمون والعلماء.

الأماكن التي يمكن زيارتها على تلال يافوز سليم مذكورة أدناه:

  • مسجد يافوز سليم: على الرغم من أن مسجد يافوز سليم من أجمل مساجد اسطنبول، إلا أنه غير معروف بشكل عام. المسجد الذي تم بناؤه على التلة الخامسة في المدينة ذات التلال السبع، هو واحد من مساجد السلاطين السبع. هنا يمكنك زيارة قبر يافوز سلطان سليم، الذي ضاعف حدود الإمبراطورية العثمانية ايضا. كما و يوجد هنا قبر السلطان عبد المجيد الأول الذي صممه كرابت بايلان. منظر القرن الذهبي الذي يُرى من شرفة المسجد، هو عنصر جمالي آخر لمسجد يافوز سليم.
  • صهريج اسبار (جوكوربستان الأربعاء): يقع صهريج اسبار بجوار مسجد السلطان سليم. تم تسميته على اسم الجنرال أسبار، الذي قُتل على يد الإمبراطور البيزنطي ليو عام 471. منذ الإمبراطورية العثمانية، أطلق على الصهاريج المفتوحة اسم “جوكوربستان” بين الناس. يُعرف صهريج اسبار يوم الأربعاء أيضًا باسم “جوكوربستان” بين العامة. يستخدم صهريج السلطان التاريخي المقابل للصهريج في تنظيم حفلات الزفاف والخطوبة حاليا.
  • دير ثيوتوكوس بانميا كاريستوس / مسجد فتحية: مسجد فتحية، أحد أندر الأعمال البيزنطية، بناه الإمبراطور جون كومنينوس وزوجته آنا دوكينة. تمت إضافة الكنيسة الصغيرة الموجودة على الجانب الجنوبي في القرن الثالث عشر بمساهمة نبيل يُدعى ميخائيل غلاباس تاركانيوتس. تم استخدام الكنيسة كبطريركية من 1456 إلى 1458. ثم تم تحويلها إلى مسجد من قبل السلطان مراد الثالث في عام 1573. يستخدم جزء من المبنى، الذي يسمى مسجد فتحية للتذكير بانتصارات جورجيا وأذربيجان، كمسجد ومصلى و كمتحف ايضا.

6.  تل باب اديرنه

يرتفع تل باب اديرنه في أحياء باب اديرنه و ايوان ساراي و يمثل الجدران الغربية للمدينة أيضًا. هذا التل، الذي ينحدر بلطف حول مسجد كاريه، يصبح أكثر انحدارًا في منطقة كيميركايا. كانت منطقة يدي كولة أبعد جزء من مدينة اسطنبول عن المركز في كل من الفترة العثمانية والعصر الجمهوري. لذلك، تم بناء العديد من المصانع هنا.

يعد تل باب اديرنه، المشهور بجدرانه البيزنطية التاريخية، واحد من أكثر الأماكن زيارة بين تلال اسطنبول السبعة. يضم هذا التل، الذي يستضيف العديد من المعالم التاريخية والسياحية الهامة، جزءًا من مناطق ايوب و ايوان ساراي و باب اديرنه.

تُعرف هذه المنطقة، حيث يقع مسجد مهرمة سلطان وقصر تكفور، بأنها المكان الذي توجد فيه الأسوار الغربية للمدينة. يُعرف هذا التل، المشهور بكونه أكثر الأماكن السياحية المهيمنة على الأسوار الأرضية، باسم تل مهرماه السلطان أيضًا.

الأماكن التي يمكن زيارتها على تلال باب اديرنه مذكورة أدناه:

  • مسجد مهرمة سلطان: يعتبر مسجد مهرمة سلطان، من أشهر المباني التاريخية في منطقة باب اديرنه. يقع المسجد، الذي تم بناؤه مع مدرسة دينية، وحمام مزدوج، وبازار، ومدرسة ابتدائية، ومجمع اجتماعي، على الجانب الداخلي من باب اديرنه، وهو أعلى مكان في سور المدينة، بجوار الجدران. شيد المبنى معمار سنان، لمهرمة سلطان، ابنة سليمان القانوني.
  • متحف خورا: من بين الأماكن التي يجب زيارتها في هذه المنطقة، يوجد أيضًا متحف كاريي. واعتُبر اسم “خورا”، الذي يعني “منطقة ريفية” أو “خارج المدينة” باللغة اليونانية، مناسباً للمبنى، لأنه يقع خارج أسوار مدينة قسنطينة. أثناء غزو الفاتح السلطان محمد لإسطنبول عام 1453 ، لم يتضرر الهيكل. تعتبر كنيسة دير خورا، التي تم استخدامها ككنيسة لفترة طويلة، هيكلًا مثيرًا للاهتمام للغاية ضمن الفن الروماني الشرقي، من خلال هندستها المعمارية وفسيفساءها ولوحاتها الجدارية.

7.  تل كوجا مصطفى باشا

تعد منطقة كوجا مصطفى باشا، وهي واحدة من أقدم المستوطنات في اسطنبول، آخر تلال المدينة السبعة الشهيرة. تل كوجا مصطفى باشا، المنطقة الممتدة من حي أكساراي إلى أسوار المدينة وساحل مرمرة، يشبه المثلث نسبةً الى مرتفعاته الثلاثة. زوايا هذا المثلث هي توبكبي و اكساراي و يدي كولة.

يتميز التل بوجود بمنتدى اركاديوس، وعمود اركاديوس الموجود في منتصف هذا المنتدى. يعد التل، الذي يبلغ ارتفاعه حوالي 60 مترًا فوق مستوى سطح البحر، موطنًا للعديد من المباني التاريخية اليوم.

تم بناء مجمع حسكي ومسجد بيرم باشا و منتدي اركاديوس، على هذا التل. هناك مساجد ومقابر وآثار يزورها كثير من الناس اليوم حيث يقع التل. هناك أيضًا العديد من المطاعم التقليدية حول تل كوجا مصطفى باشا، حيث يمكنك تناول الطعام. بعد زيارة الأماكن التاريخية في هذه المنطقة، يمكنك أخذ استراحة غداء لذيذة وتجربة نكهات مختلفة بسعر مناسب.

الأماكن التي يمكن رؤيتها على تلال كوجا مصطفى باشا مذكورة أدناه:

  • مسجد جراح باشا: يجب عليك زيارة مسجد جراح باشا، الذي بناه الوزير الأعظم جراح محمد باشا في عام 1593 على يد داوود اغا، أحد مساعدي المعمار سنان.
  • مجمع حسكي: تم بناء مجمع حسكي من قبل حسكي حريم سلطان عام 1551 بإسراف المعمار سنان. ويحتوي المجمع على مسجد ومدرسة دينية ومدرسة ابتدائية ومطبخ ومستشفى ونافورة. توجد بعض ألواح البلاط التي تزين أقواس النوافذ في متحف قصر توبكابي حاليا.

أضف تعليق

What Should You Know About Istanbul’s Seven Hills?

Roman Emperor Constantine built the city on 7 hills, based on the fact that there were the sun, moon, and 5 planets in the sky during his lifetime. Like Rome, the Byzantine Empire and the Ottoman Empire protected the borders of the city with 7 hills and built their magnificent structures on them. The seven hills that are claimed to be built in Istanbul are located in the region we call the city wall or the Historic Peninsula, that is, in the part of the conquered Istanbul, which is in the very center. It covers the triangle stretching from Edirnekapi to Sarayburnu.

Where Are the Seven Hills of Istanbul?

Sarayburnu on the first hill, Nur-u Osmaniye Mosque on the second hill, Suleymaniye Mosque on the third hill, Fatih Mosque on the fourth hill, Yavuz Sultan Selim Mosque on the fifth hill, Mihrimah Sultan Mosque on the sixth hill, and Haseki Kulliye on the seventh hill. For further reading, you can also check our article things to know about Istanbul.

The Hills are listed below:

1.  Sarayburnu Hill

Sarayburnu Hill, also known as Topkapı Palace Hill, starts from Sarayburnu in the Historical Peninsula and reaches a height of 45 meters from the sea. This hill became the heart of Istanbul during both the Roman and Ottoman periods.

Topkapi, built on the hill Palace, Blue Mosque, and Hagia Sophia are just a few of the monumental structures that determine the view of the hill. The “Million Stone”, which is considered the starting point of the roads stretching all over the Roman Empire, is located on this hill. The wide square called the Hippodrome, where horse races, gladiator fights, and various ceremonies were held before the Ottoman Empire was also on this hill. The Ottomans called this square “Atmeydani”. Today, it is known as “Sultanahmet Square”.

Sarayburnu Hill stretches from Sirkeci in the north to Kadırga Harbor in the south. This hill was chosen as a palace area during the Byzantine and Ottoman Empires. In other words, we can say that Sarayburnu Hill is the most important hill among the 7 hills. In addition, the first place where King Byzas of Megara founded the city is Sarayburnu Hill. The most important reason for this was that the hill was surrounded by the sea on 3 sides and it was the ideal place where the city could be established strategically since the land-side was above sea level.

After all, Mehmet the Conqueror preferred this end of the Historic Peninsula for the palace.

Topkapi Palace, Aya Irini, Ayasofya, Sultanahmet Mosque, Ibrahim Pasa Palace, Milyon Tasi, German Fountain, Little Hagia Sophia Mosque, Istanbul Archeology Museum, Yerebatan Sarnici, Cagaloglu Bath, New Mosque, Sirkeci Station, Bukoleon Palace, Arasta which has a market and dozens of artisan restaurants.

Places to see on Sarayburnu Hill are listed below:

  • Topkapi Palace: The contribution of Mimar Sinan is great in Topkapı Palace, which is the oldest among the palaces that have survived to this day with a history of nearly 400 years and the largest one with an area of 700 thousand square meters. In addition to Mimar Sinan, Acem Ali, Davud Aga, and Sarkis Balyan are among the owners of the touches that beautify the palace. In Topkapı Palace, which was included in the World Heritage List by UNESCO in 1985, silvers from the Ottoman palace treasury, precious stones, sultan portraits and dresses, and weapons used by the Ottoman army, You must see Prophet Muhammad’s cardigan, beard, and sword.
  • Aya Irini, the first museum of the Ottoman Empire: Hagia Irene, the first church of Byzantium, was built in the 330s. However, today’s Hagia Irene is not the same because the first wooden Hagia Irene was burned in 532. Even after it was repaired, a fire broke out several times in the church, and it survived the earthquake. So the church was passed many times. When Istanbul passed to the Ottomans, it was turned into a museum and became the first museum of the Ottoman Empire. Nowadays, various classical music concerts are also held in it.
  • Ayasofya: The Hagia Sophia Museum is among the most important monuments in the history of world architecture that have survived until today. The largest church built by the Eastern Roman Empire in Istanbul fascinates with its mosaics. Materials consisting of gold, silver, glass, terracotta, and colored stones were used in the making of the mosaics. During the Ottoman Period, in the 16th and 17th centuries, altars, pulpits, muezzin mahfils, sermon pulpits, and maksures were added to Hagia Sophia, which was converted into a mosque. Hagia Sophia was converted into a museum by the decision of the Board of Directors, but today it has been reopened as a mosque.
  • Ground zero of Rome: The Milyon Tasi was considered to be the zero point of Rome, the center of the world, in ancient times. Located on the right corner of the road from Ayasofya to Beyazit, this stone, which is almost invisible today, is also the source of the saying “all roads lead to Rome”.
  • Yerebatan Sarnici: The Yerebatan Sarnici, located southwest of Ayasofya, was built by the Byzantine emperor Justinian I. This large underground cistern was called the “Yerebatan Sarnici” among the people because of the marble columns rising from the water and appearing as innumerable. The Yerebatan Sarnici, which met the water needs of the surrounding residents during the Byzantine period, was used for a while after the conquest of Istanbul by the Ottomans in 1453. However, after the Ottomans established their water facilities in the city, the cistern was not needed. The two Medusa Heads used as pedestals under the two columns in the northwest corner of the cistern are considered masterpieces of Roman Period sculpture art.

2. Suleymaniye (Beyazit) Hill

Beyazıt Hill, one of the three most prominent hills in Istanbul’s geography, is 50-60 meters above sea level. Suleymaniye Mosque, the pearl of Beyazıt Hill, which forms the highest ridge of the city together with the sixth and seventh hills, is known as the work of Mimar Sinan’s journeyman. This hill is even known as Suleymaniye Hill.

This hill, where Istanbul’s silhouette is best seen after Sarayburnu Hill, is a region that can be reached as you go up the Golden Horn shores and is within walking distance of both Cemberlitas and Sarayburnu Hills.

Beyazıt Mosque, Mimar Sinan Tomb, Istanbul University, and Beyazıt Tower are among the must-see places on Suleymaniye Hill, which is a region where local and foreign tourists most want to see and visit in Istanbul. You should also stop by the Historical Vefa Bozacisi after you have been here.

Places to see on Suleymaniye (Beyazit) Hills are listed below:

  • Suleymaniye Mosque, the journeyman work of Mimar Sinan: The cornerstone of architectural history, the Suleymaniye Mosque, the journeyman work of Mimar Sinan, arouses admiration for centuries with its engineering, fine craftsmanship, and architectural genius. The mosque, which contributed greatly to the formation of Istanbul’s silhouette, is a domed structure that is larger than Hagia Sophia. The four minarets in the mosque represent Kanuni as the fourth sultan after the conquest of Istanbul; The ten balconies on the minarets symbolize that he is the tenth sultan in Ottoman history.
  • Beyazit Tower: The Beyazıt Tower, which was built in the Beyazit district of Istanbul to monitor and report the fires, is located on the Central Campus of Istanbul University. Fires were announced from the tower by hanging baskets during the day and by lighting lanterns at night. For a long time, it was illuminated in different colors at night and was used to announce the next day’s weather forecast to Istanbulites.

3. Cemberlitas Hill

Cemberlitas Square is considered the second hill of Istanbul and the Cemberlitas Column, brought from Rome, rises here. The monuments located on this hill, which is about 50 meters above sea level, are lined up consecutively on the Mese-Divanyolu.

Nuruosmaniye Mosque, which adorns the hill, is the first baroque mosque built in Istanbul. Cemberlitas, which was erected on this second hill of Istanbul in honor of Emperor Constantine I in 330 AD, and also the historical Grand Bazaar, one of the largest and oldest covered bazaars in the world, located on this hill. In addition, on this hill are the Firuzaga Mosque, Binbirdirek Cistern, Cemberlitas Bath, Corlulu Ali Pasa Mosque, and madrasah, Cinili Han, and Spice Bazaar are also located.

The first point we recommend including in your list of places to visit on Cemberlitas Hill is the Cemberlitas Column. The history of the Cemberlitas Column, which is almost a symbol of the region, dates back to AD. It dates back to 330. This structure, which has survived from the Byzantine period, was erected in the honor of Constantine.

After the Cemberlitas Column, you should also visit the Cemberlitas Bath. Cemberlitas Bath, which is among the works of Mimar Sinan, was built in 1584 at the request of Nur Banu Sultan, the mother of Murat III. The bath is also mentioned in Evliya Celebi’s book Seyahatname. We recommend you relax in Cemberlitas Hamam before closing the day in the Historic Peninsula.

Places to see Cemberlitas Hills are listed below:

  • Nuruosmaniye Mosque: The building, which was started to be built by Mahmud I, was left unfinished after the death of Sultan Mahmud. Osman III., who succeeded Sultan Mahmud, completed the construction and determined its name as Nûr-ı Osmanî Mosque. The complex, which was completed in 1755, was almost entirely built in baroque style, except for the inscriptions written in Hüsn-i Calligraphy. Some attribute the meaning of the name of Nuruosmaniye Mosque to Osman III and those who say that it means the light of the Ottoman Empire. Some argue that the mosque got its name because of the light and light inside.
  • Serefiye Cistern: Byzantine Emperor II. The serefiye Cistern, which was built by Theodosius between 428 and 443 to provide water storage through the Bozdoğan Aqueduct, was opened to visitors after 8 years of restoration work.

3. Fatih Hill

It is located within Fatih Hill, Fevzi Pasa Street, and Ataturk Boulevard, at the highest point of the Historic Peninsula. For this reason, the most prestigious buildings were built in this region during the Byzantine and Ottoman periods. During the Byzantine period, there was the Church of the Apostle, which was built by Emperor Constantine I and dedicated to 12 apostles. When this structure was destroyed during the conquest, Fatih Sultan Mehmet decided to have a mosque built as a victory of the conquest, and Fatih Mosque was built. The tomb of Fatih Sultan Mehmet is also located here.

Places to see on Fatih Hills are listed below:

  • Fatih Mosque: Of course, Fatih Mosque is one of the must-see places on Fatih Hill. This mosque, which took four years to build, was completed in 1470. The name of its architect is Atik Sinan, but do not confuse it with the famous Mimar Sinan. According to rumors, the Fatih Mosque was ordered to be beautiful enough to overshadow Hagia Sophia.
  • Sahn-i Seman Madrasa: The Sahn-i Seman Madrasa located here is a gigantic structure that was one of the most important educational institutions in the Ottoman Empire for a long time. The curriculum of this madrasah, whose name means “eight departments”, was prepared by the famous Turkish scientist Ali Kusçu. Only a part of the madrasah, which was destroyed by the earthquake, has survived to the present day.
  • Old Imaret Mosque: This mosque, which is very close to Zeyrek Mosque, was built in 1087 for the use of nuns. After the conquest, it was first converted into a zaviye and then into an almshouse of the Fatih Complex. Food was distributed to the needy from this building every day.
  • Maidenstone: The granite of Kiztası, one of the symbols of Fatih, was brought from Egypt and its top was built in the Ancient Greek style. The original name of the stone erected in the name of Marcianus, one of the lesser-known emperors of Byzantium, is the Marcianus Column. The Turkish name comes from the fairy girl motifs on it.
  • Molla Zeyrek Mosque: This mosque, located in the neighborhood of the same name, is one of the old Byzantine structures. Built with donations from Empress Irene Komnena, the church was built as the Pantokrator Monastery, which includes a library and hospital buildings. When it was turned into a mosque and madrasah after the conquest, it took the name of Molla Zeyrek, who taught here. It is the largest and most important religious building remaining from Byzantium after Hagia Sophia.
  • Women’s Market: Located between Bozdogan Aqueduct and Zeyrek Mosque, Women’s Market is famous for its shops selling buryan kebab, curtain pilaf, and Siirt pistachio.

5. Yavuz Selim Hill

This hill takes its name from the Sultan Selim Mosque and the Complex on it. The number of architectural works hosted by this region, which is sandwiched between the back of Fatih and the shores of the Golden Horn, is very high. Fethiye Mosque and Fener Greek Patriarchate are located on this hill, which is about 50-60 meters high from the Golden Horn. Many monasteries and churches were built here during the Byzantine period, whose name was Deuteron. During the Ottoman Empire, many mosques, madrasahs, and tombs were built in the district, where the teachers and ulema lived.

Places to see on Yavuz Selim Hills are listed below:

  • Yavuz Selim Mosque: Although Yavuz Selim Mosque is one of the most beautiful mosques in Istanbul, it is not well known. The mosque, which was built on the fifth hill of the city with seven hills, is one of the seven selatin mosques. Here you can also visit the tomb of Yavuz Sultan Selim, who doubled the borders of the Ottoman Empire. The tomb of Sultan Abdulmecid I designed by Garabet Balyan is also located here. The view of the Golden Horn seen from the terrace of the mosque is another beauty of the Yavuz Selim Mosque.
  • Aspar Cistern (Wednesday Cukurbostan): Aspar Cistern is right next to the Sultan Selim Mosque. It was named after General Aspar, who was killed by the Byzantine emperor Leo in 471. Since the Ottoman Empire, open-air cisterns have been called “Cukurbostan” among the people. The Aspar Cistern on Wednesday is also known as “Cukurbostan” among the people. The historical Sultan Cistern opposite the cistern is used for wedding and engagement organizations today.
  • Theotokos Pammakaristos Monastery / Fethiye Mosque: Fethiye Mosque, one of the rarest works of Byzantium, was built by Emperor John Comnenus and his wife Anna Doukaina. The chapel on the south side was added in the 13th century with the contribution of a noble named Mihail Glabas Tarkaniotes. The church was used as a patriarchate from 1456 to 1458. It was converted into a mosque by Sultan Murad III in 1573. A part of the building, which is called Fethiye Mosque to remind the victories of Georgia and Azerbaijan, is used as a mosque and a chapel is used as a museum.

6. Edirnekapi Hill

Edirnekapı Hill was built in the Edirnekapi and Ayvansaray neighborhoods and also carries the western walls of the city. This hill, which is gently sloping around Kariye Mosque, becomes steeper in the Kemerkaya locality. Yedikule district was the farthest part of the city of Istanbul from the center both in the Ottoman period and the Republican period. Therefore, many factories were built here.

Edirnekapi Hill, famous for its historical Byzantine Walls, is one of the most visited places among the 7 Hills of Istanbul. This hill, which hosts many important historical and touristic attractions, includes a part of Eyup, Ayvansaray, and Edirnekapi.

This area, where Mihrimah Sultan Mosque and Tekfur Palace are located, is known as the place where the western walls of the city are located. This hill, which is also known as the most dominant sightseeing place of the land walls, is also known as Mihrimah Sultan Hill.

Places to see on Edirnekapi Hills are listed below:

  • Mihrimah Sultan Mosque: Mihrimah Sultan Mosque is one of the most popular historical buildings in the Edirnekapi region. The mosque, which was built together with a madrasa, a double bath, a bazaar, a primary school, and a social complex, is located on the inner side of Edirnekapi, which is the highest place in the city wall, right next to the walls. The building was built by Mimar Sinan for Mihrimah Sultan, the daughter of Suleiman the Magnificent.
  • Chora Museum: Among the places to visit in this region, there is also the Kariye Museum. The name “Khora”, which means “rural area” or “outside the city” in Greek, was deemed appropriate for the building because it was outside the city walls of Constantine. During the conquest of Istanbul by Fatih Sultan Mehmet in 1453, the structure was not damaged. The Chora Monastery Church, which continued to be used as a church for a long time, is a very interesting structure in Eastern Roman art with its architecture, mosaics, and frescoes.

7. Kocamustafapasa Hill

Kocamustafapasa district, which is also one of the oldest settlements in Istanbul, is the last of the city’s famous 7 hills. Kocamustafa Hill, the region that goes from the Aksaray district to the city walls and the Marmara coast, resembles a triangle with its three elevations. Topkapı, Aksaray, and Yedikule are the corners of this triangle.

It is marked by the Forum of Arkadius and the Column of Arkadius located in the middle of this forum. The hill, which is approximately 60 meters above sea level, is home to many historical buildings today.

Haseki Complex, Bayrampasa Mosque, and Arkadius Forum were built on this hill. There are mosques, tombs, and monuments visited by many people today, where the hill is located. There are also many artisan restaurants around Kocamustafapasa Hill where you can eat. After visiting the historical places in this region, you can take a delicious lunch break and try different flavors at an affordable price.

Places to see on Kocamustafapasa Hills are listed below:

  • Cerrahpasa Mosque: You should see the Cerrahpasa Mosque, which was built by the Grand Vizier Cerrah Mehmed Pasha in 1593 by Davud Aga, one of the journeymen of Mimar Sinan.
  • Haseki Complex: Haseki Complex was built by Haseki Hurrem Sultan in 1551 by Mimar Sinan. It consists of a complex, mosque, madrasah, primary school, soup kitchen, hospital, and fountain. Some of the tile panels adorning the window pediments are in the Topkapı Palace Museum.

Leave a Comment